We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“motel from hell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A1 Kaikoura Motels & Holiday Park
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“motel from hell”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

the unit that we were given for our three day stay was well below standard
we had no hot water in the unit; the door handle fell of the bathroom door all the time you could,nt lock it or you would get stuck inside
the electric hot plates were so old and rusty you could flake the rust off with your finger
we checked out after 2 days and got a refund for the third day
this unit cost us $90 per night not worth the price
a good clean up is desperately needed would not recommended this place to anyone

Room Tip: stay clear of this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    8
    12
    35
See reviews for
10
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hard to rate really since we were in a fully self contained bus so didn't have the need or the desire to use the facilities at all but the place was so run down looking and a real eyesore to look at from the powered sites below. It was just a place to stop and lay our heads for the night until we could find something more appealing the next day.
Difficult to get into from both north and south entry - really tight. Having to ring the manager on the phone from reception was an unusual concept also. Very expensive for one night, $50 for two people - we've always managed to get our little towed vehicle on the same site as the bus but were charged for two sites.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I stayed at the A1 a few weeks ago and just after I moved in I read the reviews. Although this is no Marriot, it still is not the horror movie that some people are describing. The place needs investment but trust me, I have stayed in worst hostels or hotels. The guy at front desk has been helpful and nice, and he was working really hard on his own. This is a motel, people, not a 5 star hotel. In my head, all motels were dodgy, but except for little things such as the shower taking a few minutes to get hot water (just let it run!) it was overall clean and comfortable and I felt I was getting a good deal with what he offered me as a family unit. If you are fancy, do not stop there and go to a B&B. But if you are just expecting a motel to crash, well this is an alright motel. I wouldn't plan a honeymoon there but it does the job. Free wifi is good too! Location is a minute away from the center which is great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniebedandbreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We got back last night from a girls long weekend to Kaikoura, unfortunately we booked into this filthy, disgusting hovel. Do not even enter these premises. The curtains were hanging off the rails in both rooms, the ranch slider was impossible to open so we had to exit onto the balcony through the window. The Tv remote didn't work, no light in the 'kitchen' , the vinyl on the floor was filthy and unsafe ( it had a rip with curled up edges). Then we get to the bathroom, it was absolutely filthy, the bath was old and discoloured, chipped and stained. The shower was so pathetic,it was a choice of warm and no pressure or freezing cold and just enough pressure to be able to wash our hair. The hotel manager wasn't the slightest bit interested when we brought these issues to his attention. The ONLY good thing to say about this place was that the sheets appeared clean ( we dare not look at the mattresses) Shame as it's in a prime location. We all said for the price we paid, we have stayed in some excellent motels in New Zealand.

Room Tip: From looking around, there are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules6359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This place was pretty cheap. Not cheap enough. You couldn't pay me to stay here again. Filth. Don't waste your time or money. Pay an extra $5 and go somewhere that cleans their toilets and empties their bins more than once a year.

Or stay here, but bring a translation dictionary because they can't speak English, insect repellent for the bed bugs, and lots and lots of disinfectant!

Would be better off sleeping in the bush.

I'm going to have nightmares from this place for weeks.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicoleTraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

we arrived late after delayed ferry sailing , kaikoura was fully booked, the only room left was this place for $80 a night, oooh what a horrid stay, we slept in our clothes, used our own towels and left here for coffee and breakfast elsewhere, the room was musty and filthy, KEEP DRIVING TO SOMEWHERE ELSE !!!!

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kilgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in backpackers and everything was so dirty, I think disgusting. The owner doesn't care and nobody cleans the kitchen,the toillet and even the shower. Nobody cleans the floor and vacuum the carpet, change the rubbish and so on. Just cold water for washing dishes and no dishwasher. The kitchen is really bad equiped and one toillet and one shower without locker for 12 people? TERRIBLE.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A1 Kaikoura Motels & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A1 Kaikoura Motels & Holiday Park

Property: A1 Kaikoura Motels & Holiday Park
Address: 9 - 15 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A1 Kaikoura Motels & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing