We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had the crayfish - over priced and over cooked” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuti's Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Tuti's Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $46
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Indonesian, Soups, New Zealand, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated new build restaurant with a comfortable and attractive interior. One of provincial New Zealand's best equipped and hygienic kitchens serving the freshest of local seafood's and local farm produce to a consistently high standard. All fish served in this restaurant is purchased direct from the fishermen and filleted in house, with preference given to line caught fish.
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Had the crayfish - over priced and over cooked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The restaurant came well recommended by locals. And as we wanted crayfish, which wasn't available in a couple of other restaurants, we opted for here. We opted for a crayfish to share between the 2 of us at approx $100. Unfortunately, when it came it was quite dry due to being a little overcooked - which was a shame because we'd been so looking forward to the local speciality.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank caligirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutisrestaurant, Owner at Tuti's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the crayfish.
The comment that the crayfish was overpriced is probably justified as our restaurant is forced to pay $115 per kg for the live crayfish which when cooked weighs even less, the crayfish are purchased live and cooked exactly to the recommended time for their weight.
Crayfish is not always tender and succulent and can vary in texture between fish of the same size that has been cooked for the same length of time.
It would have been better if you had informed us that you felt the crayfish was slightly overcooked at the time so we could have responded then.
It's unfortunate that prices for Abalone, Crayfish, Lobster and some species of fish have reached such high levels as we would prefer to offer our customers more affordable meals using those species.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    124
    27
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temuka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of our best dinners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great service, fantastic food and warm and relaxing. 100%
The family owned and operated Restaurant was the best we found in Kaikoura .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank realnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A real treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Recommended by our motel owner with good reason. Innovative and interesting menu mixing European and Asian tastes. All were presented perfectly. Adults and kids meals alike were a taste sensation. Great service. Highly recommmended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Granite62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I went with my family and I personally tried the lamb shanks. It was definitely one of the better lam shanks that I have ever had. I am a bit picky on what I eat, but the lamb and its sauce was just the perfect combination. Would recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a decent meal in Kaikoura..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ok but know of better ones nearby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Decided to try it on the way through to Picton after reading the reviews. Service was reasonably quick on a Friday night in the tourist season. My partner ordered a mild lamb curry and I had the pan fried Groper steak off the specials board. My fish was very nice and excellently cooked however my partner, who used to live in Leeds and has had many curries over her lifetime, couldn't eat her curry. In the 13 years that we have been together it is the first time that I have ever seen her not finish a meal! Amanda asked her if there was anything that she could do and my partner asked if they had some yoghurt. She came back and said sorry they didn't have any. We weren't offered a discount or anything else. We now drive past to stop at an excellent little cafe 3/4 of an hour up the road.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Contention
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutisrestaurant, Owner at Tuti's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Sorry to hear your wife couldn't eat her lamb curry, but my daughter Amanda who served you said your partner finished at least three quarters of the meal then indicated it was too spicy then as you say she asked for yogurt, but as these curries are coconut milk based in the Singaporean style they are not served with yogurt which is not used as an ingredient in our restaurant.
Tuti's lamb curry is a favourite dish of many Kiwi's and also many UK travelers it is also one of our best selling dishes sadly your partner is the first to say it was too spicy.
Why you feel that we should offer you a discount when we have provided you a quality meal and service is beyond my comprehension and if you feel that the excellent little cafe 3/4 of an hour up the road is more suited to your tastes then so be it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuti's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing