We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal I had so far in New Zealand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuti's Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Tuti's Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $46
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Indonesian, Soups, New Zealand, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated new build restaurant with a comfortable and attractive interior. One of provincial New Zealand's best equipped and hygienic kitchens serving the freshest of local seafood's and local farm produce to a consistently high standard. All fish served in this restaurant is purchased direct from the fishermen and filleted in house, with preference given to line caught fish.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best meal I had so far in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had the prawn curry - the portion was generous and it tasted fantastic. My husband had the cray fish, the flavours were good, however slightly overcooked.
The service was excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    124
    27
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Freshness, flavour & authenticity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Casual, welcoming atmosphere for this single female traveller. Staff were incredibly friendly, professionally & patiently detailing the wide selection of food tastes available. Enjoyed the flavours of the Prawn Green Curry dish served w/ rice & fresh garden salad immensely, so much so, that I kept eating although I knew I should stop. So many prawns were a rarity in seafood dishes, most restaurants skimp on the quantity but not Tuti's. Definitely happy to have visited you during my brief visit to this amazing town. Terrific value for the money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marilyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kaikoura
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality dining every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

As a family when we all get together we like to have a meal out. Tuti's has never disappointed. The comprehensive menu provides an option for all tastes and all prices. Clean premises, quality service by delightful waiting staff and scrumptious food. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ange v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I had in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

No wonder it's #1 in Kaikoura. The food was excellent! Had a lovely dinner outside of mussels and the salt & pepper squid. The garlic aioli sauce was soooo delicious. Also, had a nice wine selection. A must eat while visiting Kaikoura.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank McNulty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Absolutely Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I think i have found the best location in the most beautiful scenic town in the south island.

Tuti's Restaraunt is a well presented venue with top class service, and the food is out of this world. the selection of local and international foods is outstanding, Tuti's caters for all including young children.
The quality of the food and presantation is top class, My back ground as a top level Resort Chef i find this hard to fault,
The amenities are very clean and inviting.
The staff are friendly with a warm welcome and super service is a great addition to the whole experience.
Tuti's is a great place for a casual drink to a family dinner, i had an exellent time and will be back on my way back through to Blenheim.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John_Niblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuti's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing