We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals I had in NZ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuti's Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Tuti's Restaurant and Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $46
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Indonesian, Soups, New Zealand, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family owned and operated new build restaurant with a comfortable and attractive interior. One of provincial New Zealand's best equipped and hygienic kitchens serving the freshest of local seafood's and local farm produce to a consistently high standard. All fish served in this restaurant is purchased direct from the fishermen and filleted in house, with preference given to line caught fish.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I had in NZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

No wonder it's #1 in Kaikoura. The food was excellent! Had a lovely dinner outside of mussels and the salt & pepper squid. The garlic aioli sauce was soooo delicious. Also, had a nice wine selection. A must eat while visiting Kaikoura.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank McNulty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    124
    27
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Absolutely Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I think i have found the best location in the most beautiful scenic town in the south island.

Tuti's Restaraunt is a well presented venue with top class service, and the food is out of this world. the selection of local and international foods is outstanding, Tuti's caters for all including young children.
The quality of the food and presantation is top class, My back ground as a top level Resort Chef i find this hard to fault,
The amenities are very clean and inviting.
The staff are friendly with a warm welcome and super service is a great addition to the whole experience.
Tuti's is a great place for a casual drink to a family dinner, i had an exellent time and will be back on my way back through to Blenheim.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John_Niblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“One of the best in NZ!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is our first time to visit and we will definitely be coming back.
The place is comfortable, casual, interesting, warm and inviting.
The food is spectacular. Everything we had (prawn satay, garlic bread, seafood bisque, steak and baileys cheese cake)was incredibly good.
The service is excellent.

If you're in Kaikoura you should definitely stop by!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deb t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Best seafood chowder for miles. We ate here 4 times on our trip to Kaikoura, very impressed. Only fault is they dont open Sunday, but hey that shows theyre nice to their staff by giving them the day off, so good on ya. Will be visiting again and recommending you to anyone who goes to Kaikoura.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“LOVED it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had dinner here after a day of whale watching and it was amazing! The service was super friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. I had the flounder in garlic butter and my friend had the Thai prawn curry, both of which were outstanding. I would 100% recommend this place to anyone who happens to be in Kaikoura, we loved it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cbaatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuti's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing