We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. The rooms were adorable, we stayed in the smaller rooms which were tight, but they were comfortable, clean and very cute. The staff were so friendly, helpful and welcoming. The room also had a fantastic shower which was awesome after a day swimming in the cold ocean.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 337 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

My family decided to stay here our first night off the plane, which turned out to be an amazing decision. Just as the other reviewers have stated, the beds are amazing and the hosts are sweet and very willing to work with you. The hotel is nicely decorated and easy to spot and just across the street from the beach!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Beautiful hotel! A very warm and friendly staff! Highly recommend staying at this hotel! The staff assisted with all tour questions and restuaurants in the area and made us feel as though we could ask for help with anything. The beds were super comfortable and the rooms had wonderful views of the sea and the mountains. The location was far enough away from hustle and bustle, but close enough to walk to everything. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNOfria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I booked a one night stay at the Kaikoura Boutique Hotel which was included through the KiwiRail web site as part of a trip from Christchurch to Wellington via the Coastal Pacific train/Interislander ferry. The entire experience was absolutely breathtaking and our stay in Kaikoura couldn't have been more relaxing.

Robin and her husband were a pleasure to talk with and were extremely personable. Staying here, you feel like you're afforded the interaction and personal service of a B&B, but with all the luxury and privacy of a five star hotel.

Our room was upstairs in the main building and was situated so the view out of the front windows was beachfront and the side view out the French doors to the balcony was of downtown Kaikoura and the surrounding country side (all framed by snow-capped peaks--incredible!!). Binoculars were provided in the room if you're feeling lucky enough to try and spot some local wildlife.

The spacious room was tastefully decorated in a modern style with a luxe fit and finish; local artwork and photos adorned the walls. The bathroom had all the amenities one would expect from a high-end western hotel. In fact, everything down to the fixtures was brand new. We were told we were only the third guests in the room following the reno. Mini-bar with complimentary fruit and cookies is included. TV is the usual basic cable one tends to find in NZ hotels (don't expect 50+ channels as in the US). Absolutely no complaints about the room/bed/etc. Even if I did have a complaint, the view would have more than made up for it...and then some.

There is a fine dining restaurant downstairs off the lobby called Maxtons that was recommended by several in town. We did not have the pleasure of dining there, but the venue was used by the hotel to serve a complimentary light breakfast in the morning--which was delicious.

The location of the hotel is about a 15 min walk to the "downtown" area of Kaikoura. The scenery is so amazing that the 15 mins will fly by. A slightly longer walk in the opposite direction will get you to the peninsula for seal/bird watching.

All in, this was truly a top-notch hotel. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Top floor, ocean view is well worth the extra money. If you're lucky enough to get a balcony roo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSmith79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was here with my girlfriend two weeks ago and was really impressed with the whole experience. We stayed in the chalets out the back but found theese more than adequate. We had everything we wanted including a very well stocked mini bar. We did inspect the rooms in the main house and theese were spectacular. I never sunk in to carpet like what was on the ground here. Total luxury with amazing sea and mountain views.theese rooms are a lot more expensive and we probably would have upgraded to this only for the fact that the chalets were so comfortable.we dined in the hotel restaurant one evening and again this was a very positive experience with an exceptional waitress attending to us. I can't wait to go back and relax here for a while. Wonderful hosts also. Thanks guys

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place exceeded our high expectations. We had a waterfront room which was superbly appointed and beautifully decorated with a spectacular view of the sea. The staff were all extremely friendly and the owners personable and welcoming which made the whole trip an absolute pleasure. Sometimes you go to a hotel and they get it right. This is that hotel. The only issue is the price. It's rather expensive, at over 300 dollars a night. However, if you are looking for a good way to spend money and live in a lap of luxury, this is your place.

Room Tip: Choose a waterfront room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Man S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent one night in this lovely heritage hotel, newly renovated. In fact, we were the first people to occupy our lovely room and enjoyed a special bottle of sparkling wine to enjoy.
The room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The decor was very tasteful.

Robin went over and above our expectations. When we forgot a small pillow in the room, which we had brought with us, she emailed us to let us know and then happily forwarded to us at a B&B in Queenstown. Thank you so much Robin. We loved your hotel. Will recommend it to friends!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jerry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Boutique Hotel

Address: 146 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Maxtons On The Shore)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: $138 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaikoura Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming historic hotel on the Esplanade of Kaikoura's peninsula has amazing and uninterrupted views of the sea, mountains and dramatic sun rises. Your entire experience of the hotel is sure to delight from stunning contemporary interior design to the deliciously famous breakfast spread and what many say, NZ's best barista coffee. The hotel's Champagne Bar is simply enchanting, perfect spot to relax or for an intimate pre-dinner drink. Rates include breakfast, wifi, parking and a memory you'll not soon forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing