We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice here in this individually tailored hotel, welcoming owners in a new and developing business. Comfortable and quiet, the connected restaurant is excellent and well worth trying. We were touring New Zealand and this made a change from the usual corporate offerings we had encountered. Try it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 337 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I only stayed one night but was immediately made to feel very welcome on arrival. I had a superb meal in the connected restaurant and a very restful night's sleep. The hotel is obviously being worked on, but the courtyard rooms are still very servicebale and care has been taken with their decor. I had no complaints at all with my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our family only stayed at the Kaikoura Boutique hotel for one night, and we found it very comfortable. The Main building was beautiful and old fashioned. The rooms have recently been remodeled, so they are modern and luxurious. It was small, but very well done and cozy, and we loved the locally made lotions. We are a family of two adults and two kids, and the Kaikoura Boutique hotel accommodated us wonderfully, we got two rooms, side by side, one for the parents and another for the kids. Host Robyn was very helpful with suggestions of nearby attractions, and we fully enjoyed a beautiful walk through the forests and along the coastline. The beds were nice, and the bathrooms were well designed, although the showers were a little hard to work. The hotel is right across the street from the ocean, and is walking distance from the main part of town. The Kaikoura Boutique hotel was very nice and quaint, and we recommend it to all travelers in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motorola27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night, and I highly recommend it. The people are the nicest and most helpful, the rooms were everything we needed, the location was perfect (what a great view, and just a short walk to anywhere) and the food was fabulous. Once they complete the renovations, the top floor will be the best around.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joosterhoudt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Never again would I stay in this ripoff of a place.You see the flashy website and think it's great with the old building but no, they put you out the back in an old prefab shed thing.You can barely put your suitcase anywhere because it is just so small.The bed was absolutely amazing and it was the only good thing about the place.The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything including the owner going in and out of his "little" room in the middle of the units (not sure what he is doing and why he needs to go in and out every half and hour, even at night).Someone really skinted on everything including the renovations here, it's like they only had half money to do it.Old faded extractions fans from the 1970's against designer wallpaper just doesn't work sorry.There was no fan heater or any heating in bathroom either.Don't think this place should be called a boutique Hotel, as it is nothing even close.A real ripff actually.I would've been happy paying $130 tops for this place.The building you see in the photos is a restaurant and that's it, don't be fooled by the nice flashy website.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Route66town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn S, Owner at Kaikoura Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

We are so sorry you were unhappy with your stay at our hotel. Our website does state that the rooms are off the courtyard behind the historic hotel. This historic building does in fact accommodate the restaurant, the guest lounge and reception downstairs, with five new luxury rooms soon due to open upstairs. As you were a bit early when you checked in, your room was in fact ready so we were happy to check you in. However, a couple of rooms still needed to be cleaned, which necessitated our using the laundry. We regret that you were disturbed this way. We consider our Courtyard Rooms have been renovated to a very high standard, with top quality fittings and fixtures by well known NZ manufacturers. We are sorry you were disappointed with them. Kind regards, Robyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a sweet little place with very good, personal service from the friendly owners/managers. Its location is good, being five minutes walk from West End, the main part of town, and just across the road from the sea. It is also at the starting point for the peninsula walk, which is a great way to spend 2-3 hours on a nice day! Our en suite was clean and nicely decorated, but pretty small. It had a roof window in the bathroom and bedroom with no curtain, meaning that on hot, sunny days (like when we were there) the room (#7) got pretty warm. This is only a problem in hot weather I would imagine, and otherwise this is a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HB274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I am so glad I stayed at the Kaikoura Boutique Hotel. I found the hotel on line and mainly chose it for the price and location. How delightful to discover it is a special place. The hosts were super friendly and helpful with tips like: breakfast at the Dolphin Encounter just a short walk from hotel (excellent), and start the peninsula 12km hike at the trailhead just behind the hotel so you can end your journey with pint at the Pier Hotel (excellent, excellent). The rooms are newly refurbished and have everything a traveller needs. Kaikoura is a great destination for a weekend stay. Lots of outdoor activities and delicious food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Boutique Hotel

Address: 146 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Maxtons On The Shore)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: $138 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kaikoura Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming historic hotel on the Esplanade of Kaikoura's peninsula has amazing and uninterrupted views of the sea, mountains and dramatic sun rises. Your entire experience of the hotel is sure to delight from stunning contemporary interior design to the deliciously famous breakfast spread and what many say, NZ's best barista coffee. The hotel's Champagne Bar is simply enchanting, perfect spot to relax or for an intimate pre-dinner drink. Rates include breakfast, wifi, parking and a memory you'll not soon forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing