We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped tent sites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed recently and found the tent sites very cramped and smaller than other sites I've stayed at. Everyone had trouble parking car and hardly any room between tents. I was also stuck in a dark shady corner with no view of anything. Kitchen, toilets and showers were all great. Swiming pool was small but still good and hot spas were great. Site would benefit from a reorganisation of tent sites to allow better views and space for guests. Also the $40 a night for site was also the most ive ever paid for a pitch. There was a fair bit of noise from road in the night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnydaz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 305 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed early new year. Great campsite for campervans, but not suitable for tents as campsites are too small and will only fit an average size tent. No room for your gazebo / umbrella or outdoor table and chairs. Excellent facilities otherwise especially for families with young children. Great location, is very quiet and can walk everywhere. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat2013540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

When travelling through australia and nz, this was definitely one if the best campgrounds, clean facilities. Topics mentioned by other reviewers (timer on showers or small contribution for bbq ) were not an issue at all. Never ran out of water and bbq were in excellent state! Certainly recommend!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed over the busy Christmas season, Staff were very friendly and always willing to help. Park was exceptionally clean and family orientated. We were advised on good, interesting local attractions, some of which we did, and were an amazing experience. We were in walking distance to local shops and restaurants . Will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask the staff what would suit you best. They are very helpful in this regard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very good holiday park, I had a power site for a night and we do enjoy here. Kitchen area and toilet blocks super clean and tidy. The showers were very clean, hot and really powerful! The pool area is excellent, we had a great fun there. We would highly recommend to those, and we will definitely be back in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelKKW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

In December I rang and booked at this park for myself and my family for 31st January. When I received the email confirmation, it is in quite small text, and I saw only the date, not noticing it was booked for December, not January. Today I received another email asking me to rate them and thanking me for my stay. This alerted me to the fact I had been misbooked. I immediately rang and spoke to a lady, who was very helpful and was trying to correct the booking, when the same man came on the phone and said there would be no change of booking, as it was my fault. I could accept this if I hadn't turned up, but as it was HIS mistake for booking the wrong month, I think they should honour my original booking. He was very argumentative on the phone shouting me down, for someone in hospitality he doesn't seem to have any customer skills whatsoever. Maybe I've dodged a bullet by not staying here?

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here, stay anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Whoppeecock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpinePacificHP, Manager at Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

I am extremely sorry you had such a bad experience regarding your booking.Its a shame you didnt get to stay here and experience our hospitality in person.As i am new to this Tripadvisor response page i have only just seen your comment now.I am unsure who would have dealt with you but can only wholeheartedly apologise and hope that you give us another chance, as i can honestly say we are all friendly (and usually very helpful!) and i would be happy to make your next booking experience an enjoyable one! Hope to see you someday :)
Leila

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Friendly staff, extremely clean room and amenities. Pool brilliant for the kids, and adults too. Kitchen area and toilet blocks super clean and tidy. We would highly recommend to others,and we will definitely be back in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park

Address: 69 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: $49 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy picturesque views, FREE hot tub and swimming pool. Excellent accommodation options inc. motel units, cabins, tent and RV campervan sites. Pets welcome by prior arrangement. Our park is close to all sea, land, cultural and sporting adventures and attractions. Kaikoura is an amazing natural environment, and the Home of NZ's whale watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing