We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine-Pacific Kaikoura - a good reasonably priced option.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have now spent four separate nights at the Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park in Kaikoura whilst working in the township for two days a week. I chose to move to A-P after being booked in to another venue by the company. The prices were reasonable, the rooms clean and well presented and the staff/owners welcoming and helpful. I booked an "ensuite studio" and it was all I needed. It had a very comfortable bed, fan heater attached to the wall, Sky with 2 sports channels (Male :)) and a adequate showeroom/toilet. Shower is separate and enclosed. Best thing for me is that these units are set down the rise and hence, don't get the direct traffic noise from Hwy 1 going past during the night as did my first option. Hope to be back working in Kaikoura and staying at A-P soon. Thanks a lot. KJ

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank CoachnVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 330 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here for a night on way to North Island. Room (with ensuite) was very clean and the shower was awesome - high pressure and unlimited hot water...
Easy walking distance to supermarket and bar/restaurant. Owners very nice and provided details of baby seal colony as we left to head North.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snappyjaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We spent one night here whilst passing through Kaikoura. Our room ( ensuite cabin ) was basic but very and clean and well laid out. Small kitchenette with jug and toaster etc , coffee and tea provided and a fridge. Room was heated with an efficient wall fan heater. The bed was very comfortable and had a double electric blanket attached. There were extra duvet blankets available if required.
The bathroom was clean and user friendly with shower cubicle, vanity and toilet. Towels, shampoo and soap provided.
Overall we were very happy with our nights stay at Alpine Pacific Holiday Park and would have no hesitation in recommending it as a comfy stopover for a night or 2.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jono2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We spent one night in the deluxe room which is on it's own directly behind the reception area. We found the room to be quiet and clean. It was the only place we stayed in New Zealand that didn't supply any toiletries. The bathroom was a 'wet' room and when we had a shower the floor was flooded with a real pool of water behind the toilet. It didn't really worry us as we were leaving but I am not sure how I would have felt if I was spending a second night there and wondering if the room was going to dry out before I wanted to use it again. We enjoyed the best nights sleep with the best pillows we had found since leaving home.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Very disappointed by this park. we had one of the studio rooms which we found to be small and not very well equipped compared to the other sites that we had stayed in the South Island also as we did not have a car it was a fair walk into the centre so for restaurants etc the location was not good. Also everywhere else they ask you to tell them if you do not want your room cleaned here they you have to ask if you want it cleaned.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaz1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

A nice site with very helpful and friendly staff.
We had a cabin which was very comfortable and clean, with views across the park to the distant hills. The walkway went right in front of the rooms which slightly reduces privacy.
The kitchen/dining area was large and spotless, but you do have to borrow any required tools and pans from reception.
This site is a good ten minute walk to the town and sea-front, but there is a large supermarket a few hundred metres up the road.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed in the deluxe room which is attached to the back of the reception area - nice outlook for sunsets in the evening.

Decor in room is very nice but was disappointed that there was no shampoo supplied (I would expect that to be included at $140.00 per night).

There is a sofa bed so if 4 people were sharing that would bring the cost down.

A five minute walk to nearby convenience store, fish and chips and Subway just across the road.

Approximately 20 minute walk into township or 15 minute walk to Kaikoura whale watch.

Bikes available to hire at an extra cost $5 per hour (hired one but my seat kept dropping down, however, managed to cycle around coastline).

The camp ground looked very clean and tidy and we would come back and stay in our campervan.

Room Tip: Only one room in this category. Good value for 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brook House B&B & Cottages
0 mi away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#17 of 36 in Kaikoura
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
#11 of 20 in Kaikoura
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park

Address: 69 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: $57 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy picturesque views, FREE hot tub and swimming pool. Excellent accommodation options inc. motel units, cabins, tent and RV campervan sites. Pets welcome by prior arrangement. Our park is close to all sea, land, cultural and sporting adventures and attractions. Kaikoura is an amazing natural environment, and the Home of NZ's whale watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing