We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albatross Backpacker Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Bay of Plenty
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectation”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I stayed at Albatross Backpacker Inn last Winter. Advertising boasted an accommodation award which sounded good however, on arrival, it did not look as great as the advertising - there were no bikes available (although I had checked prior to booking).

My single room was small but okay. Heater was missing its foot.

There is no television in the lounge and little reading matter.

May be okay for groups but it lacked personality/ambience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    37
    26
    13
    7
See reviews for
12
77
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

When you first step up to this hostel, It looks warm quaint and relaxing as you would expect in New Zealand, you enter the main common building and your plesently surprised to see how homely decorated and cared for the main common room is with games and activities avalible as well as internet and the large shared kitchen.
Its when they show you to your room that the disapointment begins, me and my friends were staying in one of the annex's. We were disapointed to find the rooms miniscule, grubby and smelling damp. whilst you dont expect a lot from most hostels we have been plesently surprised by many in NZ, there was bearly room to fit our luggage in the room and move around between the bunk beds. from the looks of the other rooms that we saw during our stay here this was the norm.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I appreciated the effort the management go to to make this place welcoming, there is a lovely relaxed vibe plus all the green stuff - recycling etc. However, they don't seem to manage the environment in the same way many hostels do as regards drinking, noise, cleanliness etc. I spent a night in a dorm which was a nightmare. A group of 20-somethings were drinking in the garden and I was woken up several times in the night. In the morning there was someone crashed out in the living room and dirty glasses everywhere! I guess hostels are just a matter of luck about who is staying at the time, but if they didn't allow drinking after a certain time, or at least had signs up about not making noise after a certain time, it would seem like more effort was being made to manage it! The dorm was grubby and smelled of sweat. The kitchen was really dirty, and there seemed to be no system of labelling food, no signs up about labelling, doing dishes etc. The fridges were crammed and smelled. The private rooms are quite pleasant though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loubs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

It looks very quaint from the outside, and the location is good without being too much in the town centre. Clean except the kitchen looks like it needs a GOOD clean. Rooms good and beds comfy. I didn't like the fact that in the seperate accommodation is that the toilets are in with the showers, so if both are in use for showers you have to go to the main block.
Helpful reception staff.
The age range was quite young.
Oh and I couldn't stick the heavy metal music on a loop... turn it off!!

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the toilets..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glamgran56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Featuring a unique hippy flair and relaxed attitude, this hostel certainly deserves its reputation for vibe and atmosphere. Pitty our twin room smelled like old smoke and was far from accommodating. Sustainability awareness a plus, even though we could have done without bathrooms painted in lila.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrKaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

V cute clean room with a lot of attention to detail-hooks where you need them, recycling bins outside the door, shower round the corner, nicely decorated, guest book in the room with ideas, own herb garden, v well equipped kitchen, large friendly feel to lounge and chirpy scouser to welcome us.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of December 2011. The owners were helpful with giving us advice on things to do on a rainy day and went out of their way to give us a lift to the bus station in the rain, and there are helpful booklets and postings on the wall where the hostel owners give recommendations/reviews of activities and places to eat. The Intercity bus doesn't come until around lunch time, and their generous policy is to let guests continue to use the facilities and store luggage past check out time for free. There's no free breakfast or labeling system for guest food, but the free hot chocolate and other beverages was nice (and fair trade! The hostel is very into being environmentally friendly, e.g. recycled paper for toilet paper). The plethora of musical instruments made for a music-filled common room which we quite enjoyed, and there were a lot of books and games available as well and comfy seating/tables. The twin room was rather small, but clean, and in general, the atmosphere in the hostel was relaxed and very welcoming. The computer facilities were great---fully functional and fast, good for Skyping.

The location in a quiet area just a block out of town center was great for swimming with the dolphins (Encounter), since the hostel was only a few minutes walk from the Encounter center.

Room Tip: We had a twin room by the bathrooms and a series of 5-6 people from the dorms kept on coming in late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dictyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
#8 of 36 in Kaikoura
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Backpacker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Backpacker Inn

Property: Albatross Backpacker Inn
Address: 1 Torquay Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel with Soul! Characterful historic building filled with music, art, food and good company! Run by travelers for travelers, at The Albatross you'll find a warm, inviting place in which to unwind after your time on the road. What we offer you:- Spacious lounge filled with art by world travellers, musical instruments and plenty of space to relax.- Funky well-equipped kitchen with complimentary herbs, spices, cooking oil and Fairtrade Organic tea, coffee and hot chocolate.- Warm, comfortable rooms with heaters in each and fully made beds.- An Art Corner for creating masterpieces! - Guitars, ukuleles, hand drums and songbooks.- Loads of fun board games and well-stocked book exchange.- Regular group dinners, BBQs in summer and hot puddings by the log fire in winter.- Sunny garden with a gas BBQ, lots of tables and herbs & veggies for you to pick.- Free bikes. Cyclist specials and lockable bike storage.- Lots of good local info and advice, free guide book rental, onward travel booking. Come join us for our next Curry Night, a Jam Session or an epic round of "Kaikouropoly"! Ben and Katie look forward to welcoming you to The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Albatross Backpacker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Backpacker Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing