We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fairways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fairways
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We love this place, have stayed 4 or 5 times and always come back. It's just beautiful and the hosts are really friendly.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allie2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    67
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
62
192
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2009

My Wife and I were planning A 10 days holiday in Kaikura.
We were searching For a decent accommodation for our child and us
Quite,beautiful scenery y,away from town.

We have discovered the "FAIRWAYS" and decided to go there.
The place was spectacular,the scenery was amazing and ,our hosts:
Stephan and Sara are the warmest and hospitable hosts we have ever met
Helpful pleasant and genuiene .
They were helpful , we've been well looked after
The Service was superb and so the experience so ,we decide to extend our staying to 3 weeks

We will be back there very soon for sure/
Highly recomended!!

from Ariel Amanda and Woody
From Bondi ,Sydney Australia

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pointbreaksurfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed in one of the apartments for two nights... we were impressed with the layout, comfort, great kitchen, underfloor heating in the bathroom, easy to use gas fire, large bedroom, spa bath, all-in-all a neat place to be. We've stayed in many other motels in Kaikoura township...this was a nice quiet spot, just out of the township, but close enough to go back in for a coffee or a shop around any time we wanted to.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

We stayed in a studio apartment which was well equipped. The restaurant recomendation was also great. We had been camping and our tent was saturated and they helped us put the wet tent in their garage to dry. Very helpfull indeed. Would definatly stay there again.
Shame we only spent one night

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

Absolutely fabulous apartments. A lcouple of clicks out of town, view is of the golf course not the ocean. Wonderful host and great recommendations on restaurants and help with reservations and info about Kaikoura. We fell in love with Kaikoura and this apt. was a delight to return to each night from our adventures. Wish we could have spent more then two nights here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkchristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellytonian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2009

wish we had stayed more than one night. the Spa was a brilliant touch, and the gas fire too! Enjoyed our meal at Robbies. Our whale watcing trip was cancelled due to bad weather. prompt refund.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellytoniangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Loved this place, we stayed in the studio which was compact but perfect and very clean and new. The courtyard was groovy with NZ natives which melded to the scenery which we liked, with a beautiful view from the bed to the mountains that seem so closeby. The nicely landscaped swimming lake looked tempting too! The real coffee and plunger and fresh milk offered at check in topped it off for me as a nice touch. Thanks
Greer

  • Liked — Clean and new in a beautiful part of the country
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
411 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
38 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
7.3 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairways

Property: The Fairways
Address: 1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairways 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and studios offering luxurious fully self contained accommodation for travelers looking for some quality and friendly service that will your make to trip to Kaikoura a memorable one. Located just 3 km south of Kaikoura within Ocean Ridge between the Kaikoura Golf course and the Kaikoura winery. Your hosts are Graham and Robyn Lamond who live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Kaikoura
Fairways Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing