We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and large one bedroom units”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fairways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fairways
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely and large one bedroom units”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here on our way down the coast for our wedding anniversary and enjoyed having the beautiful kitchen to cook in and the lovely spa and fireplace to relax in. One of the larger places we have stayed in, will look at using other fairways apartments when we return to NZ with kids.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazmaz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    67
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
62
192
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Booked into a studio room for 3 nights but immediately upgraded to an apartment (#5 recommended). For a small premium the apartment offers so much more, extremely well equipped, spacious and very comfortable. We enjoyed it so much we decided to stay an extra 3 nights and I would recommend doing this in the middle of a reasonably intensive driving holiday with frequent changes of location.
The couple who look after the property could not have been more helpful and this contributed to our enjoyment. The only downside is that it is a little out of Kaikoura but the upside is that it is very peaceful with a pleasant 18 hole golf course a short par 4 away!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The unit we had was beautifully appointed, this seems to be just about the best accomodation in Kaikoura - clean, modern, with a good range of amenities, and beautiful spaces. For those expecting 5 star hotel attention or b&b personalised hospitality, you may be disappointed. The place felt like a serviced apartment, which suited our needs. One minor letdown was that one of our hosts was less than hospitable whenever inconvenienced in any way, though generally our other hosts were friendly enough.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank e c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in 2b unit. Very nice newish units with full kitchen, laundry, fireplace, and BBQ. Only complaint was beds a little hard for me. Located on a golf course but no real golf course or other views from units. Good location south of town, 3 min ride. Did not see a better choice near Kaikoura.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The fairways was just perfect for our family stay of 3 nights in Kaikoura, we had a car so getting about was not an issue as this place is not right in the town of kaikoura but a little bit south.
Very up market accommodation with plenty of facilities, BBQ, washing and drying machines too.
Great place to stay, we went out with Whalewatch and saw 2 and a school of Dolphins it was fantastic and a memory that will last for a long time. Also went deep sea fishing with Gerry ( FishingKaikoura ) and all caught plenty of fish, took the fillets to Don's Fish & Chip shop, where he battered them and we sat and ate our own freshly caught fish with chips ( Perfect ). Kaikoura and the Fairways is a must.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked this on very short notice on wotif and when we arrived 3 hours later, it was all sorted. Very nice studio unit, top quality bedding and towels. Short walk to a deserted beach. Enjoyable stay. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Unfortunately it poured with rain the entire time and so any view of the mountains cannot be commented on as we could barely see the road!

The accommodation was for five people and consisted of two units with an interlocking door. It was clean, modern and well equipped. The fireplace was very welcome bearing in mind the weather.

I would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonH1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.3 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairways

Property: The Fairways
Address: 1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairways 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and studios offering luxurious fully self contained accommodation for travelers looking for some quality and friendly service that will your make to trip to Kaikoura a memorable one. Located just 3 km south of Kaikoura within Ocean Ridge between the Kaikoura Golf course and the Kaikoura winery. Your hosts are Graham and Robyn Lamond who live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Kaikoura
Fairways Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing