We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a welcome”
Review of The Fairways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Robyn gave us a very friendly welcome and showed us the Studio, she said that as the adjoing Apartment was not occupied we could use the additional facilities it provided; both Robyn and Graham brought along our breakfast which was extremely well presented. Studio was very clean and comfortable, an ideal overnight stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for The Fairways
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 299 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

4 of us stayed overnight. We were warmly greeted and shown to our accommodation which was excellent. Very comfortable, clean and cosy (it was cold and raining that day so we were glad of the gas fire). Very close to Kaikoura for restaurants. We enjoyed a good walk to the beach over the road despite the weather. Breakfast the next morning was basic compared to other places we stayed but perfectly adequate. The management were extremely helpful and pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are very good.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Me and 3 friends stayed here as we were doing a fishing charter in Kaikoura. The Reception we got when we checked in was amazing , we got introduced to everyone and made to feel so welcome. the teams local knowledge was unsurpassed and the apartment we stayed in was very very fell equipped with BBQ and all. it was a beautiful weekend we stayed and practically he whole apartment can be opened up to make the most of it. We will stay here when we come back you will not be disappointed by the Fairways i guarantee.

Thanks to the team for a great stay.
Hope you enjoyed the crayfish graham. :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfella10, Owner at The Fairways, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Kia ora

It was great to have you & your friends to stay Daniel. We enjoy the fact that you came for the weekend to have a break, chillax & have some fun. It's certainly good to hear laughter & people enjoying themselves.
From Graham "the crayfish was lovely, thanks"
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed with my family of four at the Fairways and it was excellenty. Almost new appartments/houses all for yourself. All seems new even though they are almost 5 years old. Trust me in Kaikoura there is probably not a better place to stay ! You even have a small pond for your kids to swim in.
The managers are super friendly and overall i must say I can only recommend it

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amadeu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfella10, Owner at The Fairways, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Kia ora

Thank you for your honest review. Sometimes it's a very pleasant surprise getting them & we certainly appreciate it.
It is always nice to meet & greet new guests & we are thrilled that you enjoyed your brief stay.
We hope that you make it back again to New Zealand in the future to continue your association with our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Nice and friendly host! Clean,modern accomondation. Large and comfortable bed.No cooking facility in the studio.Room is a bit small and no view of the the sea but Ok for a short overnight stay.It is 15 minutes drive to Kaikoura centre.I would consider booking the larger apartment with the kitchen/lounge for longer stay.

Room Tip: Studio room is quite small, would of be nice if we had the adjacent apartment with kitchen and loung...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Robyn and Graham are very nice and kind people who offer an outstanding service and will do everything to make your stay as comortable as possible. The rooms are clean, modern and light. We've received a free upgrade to an appartment. The appartments are also modern,clean and light but complete and very spacious too. The Fairways is located just out of Kaikoura centre, close to a golf course. We enjoyed it verymuch!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We are on a 10 week trip around New Zealand and a lot of our accommodation has been per-booked by a travel agent. This is the first problem we have encountered. We feel the agent made a mistake in booking us a studio room in this depressing collection of dull boxes. We are not interested in the website's boasts about it's Eco credentials or the ex owners views on the community etc. what we wanted was a comfortable studio apartment, with privacy and pleasant surroundings. What we got was:
1) a tiny room with a kettle and a fridge only accessible when the bed was moved
2) a complete lack of sound insolation, e.g. When the people in the adjoining apartment spoke at normal volume we could hear them as clearly as if they were standing beside our bed. It was possible to hear a spoon rattle in a cup and the kettle boiling. Our night's sleep was seriously disturbed by occupants of the neighbouring suite needing to make tea at 3.45 am and again at 6.00 am.
3) the location of Fairways is very poor. No on site facilities located on a fast noises highway requires the use of a car to shop, go to the beach, go for a meal. Not very Eco friendly!
4) the complex consists of a collection of dull box like buildings devoid of architectural merit and being situated in a low area does not easily afford views of the mountains. Sea views are prevented by a large clump of ugly pine trees
5). The tiny room was very stuffy but opening the window brough the added irritation of noise from the adjacent highway.

In conclusion these "studio" rooms are not suitable to market separately from the apartments to which they are connected by a locked internal door.
We had booked in for 2 nights but left after one dreadful night. We are not sure if we will get a refund but even if we do not we believe that life's too short to waste any further time at "The Fairways".
m2smayo

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank m2smayo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfella10, Owner at The Fairways, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Kia Ora

We are very sorry that your stay at The Fairways was disappointing to you.
We do however thank you for your review; if we don’t know about a problem we can not rectify or eliminate it.

It would have been nice to have been informed early in the evening of extra noises from neighbouring guests, so we could have moved you to another studio or apartment, or spoken to the guests that were causing you some concern. However this didn’t happen, & we were none the wiser of the situation.

Studios are compact, usually used by guests staying one night. They are functional & well equiped. Providing the bed stays in it's correct position there is room to get into the fridge & use the tea & coffee facilities.

The main road is some 250m from the complex & the noise from the traffic is limited, even with a window open.

We are, and have always been 4.5km from the main town centre. That equates to a 4-5min drive or a 30min walk, it's only a 2-3 min walk across the road to the beach, & we also have in house catering which is available for all meals, (an evening meal out should be a delight), so we are very eco friendly.

Being eco friendly also includes; having our own water system, waste management - recycling, energy efficiency & native plants to attract wildlife, hence the fact we have been achieved the Enviro-Gold award & it is a high priority for us here at Ocean Ridge.

Kaikoura is having one of its best summers, with a number of national highs (temperature), which also adds to the high number of visitors to Kaikoura. It is the busiest season of the year for all motels, hotels & apartments. Everyone is trying to enjoy the summer, beach going, whale watching, swimming with the dolphins & seals, bbqs, taking advantage of the local seafood, children riding scooters, running around & making lots of noise, & generally chillaxing. These are just a few of the things that make this a real Kiwi summer.

We hope you take the time to enjoy the weather & activities that summer provides for everyone, life is too short.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#12 of 36 in Kaikoura
42 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairways

Address: 1 Kersage Dr | Ocean Ridge, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: $115 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairways 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and studios offering luxurious fully self contained accommodation for travelers looking for some quality and friendly service that will your make to trip to Kaikoura a memorable one. Located just 3 km south of Kaikoura within Ocean Ridge between the Kaikoura Golf course and the Kaikoura winery. Your hosts are Graham and Robyn Lamond who live on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Kaikoura
Fairways Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing