We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hokitika
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hokitika Heritage Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Hokitika B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was such a nice place to stay and the owners really made us feel at home. Even though there were only two of us, we stayed in the cottage in the front so that we could do our laundry. It was a huge house and I'm sure a family would love it. We were only in the area for one night so we went out to dinner, but we enjoyed relaxing at the cottage. The morning we checked out, we left our camera but luckily we noticed when we went into town for breakfast. We came back to the cottage about 30 minutes later, and they had already tried to call and email us about finding it. They are just super nice people and they have a lovely place. You will not regret staying in this beautiful home in such a quiet neighborhood.

Room Tip: We loved staying in the cottage, but if you want to hang out with others, you should stay up in the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikergirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. We trust you continued to enjoy NZ during your trip and are safely home. Bestw ishes for the future. Dianne and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Hokitika Heritage Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Homeowners are very kindly and friendly, the room is very neat and sweet, the most like the blue room, it's very big, and the view also very beautiful. I like this Lodge, I will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: The most like the blue room, it's very big, and the view also very beautiful.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennytjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for your review and we enjoyed meeting your group. We wish you all well and hope you have a very happy 2014. Kind regards, Dianne and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our one night stay was made special by Chris and Diane's excellent hospitality and good sense of humour. Lovely welcome from Chris included tea and home made muffins. He then gave us all the relevant information about the area, which we used to enjoy our time in Hokitika. Accommodation was spacious and comfortable, with great views. It is a little bit out of the centre but we were happy to walk in and out of town, coming back after dark via the magical glow worm dell, which Chris had told us about.

Room Tip: The Gold Room is large and has a great view of the town
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDiggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for your kind review of our B&B. We really enjoy hosting people and we look forward to this continuing in the future!! Kind regards, Dianne and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful experience here. Chris and Diane do everything possible to make your stay memorable. The rooms are quite stunning - colour co-ordinated with great attention to detail. There are great views from the rooms over Hokitika. Breakfast was very good and as was the welcome drinks and homebaking..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you and we trust you are both well and enjoying the summer back in Edinburgh. Kind regards, Dianne and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

The room is very romantic and the bed is very comfortable ! The host Chris is very kind and makes you feels at home. Due to our special request to leave at 7:00 am, we have to have breakfast at 6:30, but Chris still very willing to meet our request, we feel sorry about that. Very good in overall impression indeed.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lai Wah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. The early start is no problem and I trust you reached Lake Tekapo safely and enjoyed your flight!! All th best for the future. Kind regards, Dianne and Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Chris and Diane do everything possible to make sure your stay is as comfortable as it can be. The room was immaculate with every creature comfort available and thoughtfully planned. The independently lit hidden return for the tea making equipment summed up the degree of thought that has gone into making your stay just perfect. Watching the sun go down with a book in the hand just hit the spot. Pop along the road to watch the glow worms, it only takes 20 minutes all in and was delightful. A continental breakfast was more than enough after an evening meal at Stumpers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you very much for your review of your stay here. We are leased that you enjoyed it and we look forward to perhaps meeting you again in the future. Kind regards, Dianne and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Dianne & Cris are wonderful hosts. They greeted us as soon as we pulled up to their driveway. Their home is very welcoming. We had the Gold Room which was great. There was plenty of bathroom soaps, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. We had a mini area in our room to make our own coffee, tea if we wanted. They offered us a drink upon arrival. They gave us plenty of information about things to do. We got there late so we went to town, walked the beach and had dinner at Stumps restaurant which was good,great service too. After dinner we got back and they offered us a drink and we sat outside to watch the sun set which was pretty amazing as there were lots of clouds but just before it set it was amazing! she also set out a plate of treats with nuts, chocolate covered ginger and bars. Room was very clean and organized. Chris made a wonderful breakfast. Plenty of food for breakfast. He cooked me up some eggs and bacon! Great job Chris & Dianne

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carilyn_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for your very full and comprehensive review of your stay with us. We are very happy you enjoyed it and we enjoy sharing out home with guests. We wish you a safe return and maybe we will see you in NZ again. Kind regards, Dianne and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#3 of 10 in Hokitika
560 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
1.0 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
0.7 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
1.3 mi away
Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hokitika Heritage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokitika Heritage Lodge

Address: 46 Alpine View, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hokitika
Price Range: $142 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hokitika Heritage Lodge is a Bed and Breakfast operating from Bank House. There are 2 superb bedrooms with their own en-suites, with king or queen beds, tea and coffee making, views to the sea and mountains, free wireless internet, full or continental breakfast. Use of guest lounge to relax and enjoy the views. Welcoming snacks and drinks on arrival and help with planning your activities while you are here or your onward travel arrangements. Complimentary pre-dinner drinks offered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing