We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely smart, well equipped cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hokitika Heritage Lodge
Ranked #5 of 17 Hokitika B&B and Inns
Wessex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Extremely smart, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed in the (spotlessly clean) cottage, which had a beautiful interior with good quality furnishings, and had a very comfortable night's stay.

Our host welcomed us on arrival then was unobtrusive the rest of our stay. We had shopped at the supermarket in Hokitika and cooked for ourselves - the kitchen was very well equipped, just like you would expect at home!

We had plenty of amazing views throughout our trip so didn't mind not having a view this night, and enjoyed having the outdoor table. It was lovely having space to spread ourselves in the cottage after living in motel rooms, and great to have washing and drying facilities. It's not in the centre of the town so was peaceful and it was interesting to be staying in a residential area. Could have made ourselves truly at home and stayed for longer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apprecaite the time taken by guests to give an up to date assessment of our facility. This is very valuable to us and makes sure that we maintain standards. Kind regards, Dianne and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calfiornia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our second night in New Zealand and we were still a little jet lagged. We were welcomed on our arrival by Chris and shown a beautiful room with a view of the valley. Chis and Dianne were extremely helpful with advice on local restaurants, shopping, and the "glow worm grotto" nearby.
It was the perfect beginning to a wonderful New Zealand vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank protravler177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw and we trust you had a very enjoyable visit to NZ. Best wishes, Dianne and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in the cottage in front of the main house and it was way too big for our needs as we arrived late and were leaving early - the house though is beautiful and has everything you would need for a longer stay! It is spotless inside and out and is very large indeed - will definitely stay here again if lucky enough to travel this way again!

Room Tip: If arriving late bring food as Hokitika closes early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you were able to have a more leisurely trip to Nelson and enjoyed the trip. Kind regards, Dianne and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The self catering bungalow at Hokitika Lodge is a real home from home. It is very well equipped with everything you would need and was spotlessly clean and as new. Chris was very helpful with suggestions as to what sights to see and you can easily fill 2 days exploring the area. The only downside was that the bungalow didn't offer any view, whereas the B+B, just a little way up the driveway had wonderful views of the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room with a view go for the B+B in the main house. If you want to be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and we wish you well in your future travels. Kind regards, Dianne and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

High up at the back of the town gives this Hokitika B&B wonderful views. Chris and Dianne where most welcoming to their lovely home . Every home comfort plus top quality accomodation. Fellow guests were as complimentary as we were about our hosts.
And Chris cooks a really splendid full-english breakfast.
Definitely the right place to choose again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronald d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed it and we look forward to perhaps meeting you again. Kind regards, Dianne and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

A great but brief experience. Great room with a gorgeous view, super breakfast and hosts, Chris and Dianne, who were so friendly and knowledgeable and did everything they could to make our stay memorable.
It is very easy to be able to recommend this B&B and as regular visitors to NZ we aim to stay here next time we pass through.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We welcome the feedback and look forward to meeting you again should you be passing through Hokitika on a future trip. Kind regards, Dianne and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We, the family of 4 adults, took a two weeks travel to New Zealand on Dec., 2012. We all agreed that Hokitika Heritage Lodge was the best and the warmest place among all the hotels, or motels we had stayed during those two weeks. We stayed at the "gatehouse cottage" and found out it was not a "Cottage", it was actually a newly built two bedroom single house with a attached garage. Everyone of us was so thrill and excited when we walked into the house. It has everything you need as a single house. Talking about Chris and Dianne's hospitality, they are superb. They even prepared the breakfast for us with a very minimal charges. And that was our best breakfast we had during those two weeks, too.

Room Tip: We highly, highly recommend this place and make sure you book the gatehouse cottage if you have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhl46, Owner at Hokitika Heritage Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete the review. We appreciate the feedback. Kind regards, Dianne and Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.9 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
0.7 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hokitika Heritage Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokitika Heritage Lodge

Property: Hokitika Heritage Lodge
Address: 46 Alpine View, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hokitika Heritage Lodge is a Bed and Breakfast operating from Bank House. There are 2 superb bedrooms with their own en-suites, with king or queen beds, tea and coffee making, views to the sea and mountains, free wireless internet, full or continental breakfast. Use of guest lounge to relax and enjoy the views. Welcoming snacks and drinks on arrival and help with planning your activities while you are here or your onward travel arrangements. Complimentary pre-dinner drinks offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hokitika Heritage Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing