We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
20 Day New Zealand Uncovered Haka Plus Tour
2

Book in advance
from
$5,679.78
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Hokitika Beach
from $5,679.78
More Info
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveler rating
289
263
79
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
289
263
79
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drift wood walk along the beach watch the sunset sunset point crashing waves tasman sea beach front the main street driftwood sculptures sign windswept art rocks competition foreshore coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 643 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2019

Unfortunately there was no sunset to speak of the day we were there, but it still wouldn't be a trip to Hokitika without spending some time at the beach. The name thing (new since my last trip) made from wood is cool and the waterfront area far more hospitable than it once was (though still a work in progress during our visit)

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank mummakook
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 21, 2019

Walking from Hokitika centre to the beach takes only a few minutes. The walking "boulevard" borders directly the pebble beach. The word HOKITIKA is depicted in large standing driftwood, apparently a place for taking selfies.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Jan Willem t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

Maybe just unfortunate timing but we caught some really windy and wet weather in the couple of days we were in Hokitika. This made the beach nearly unapproachable. There had been plenty of weather and the beach seemed to have copped a lot of that. There was a deal of work being done at the beach by the council and hopefully back to pristine condition soon.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 10, 2019

It would be amazing to come here for the Driftwood and Sand Festival. The character and sheer amount of driftwood around the beach here is amazing! You could spend hours and hours scouring the beach for treasures of driftwood or rocks.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 10, 2019

Rocky “beach” both large and small rocks - looks like some rocks added to stop beach loss
The name of the town in the sticks is cute
Actually, other than shopping and eating- this is one of few things to do here

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews