We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rimu Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rimu Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Helen and Peter were the perfect hosts. The lodge is so comfortable. We arrived mid afternoon and left early the next morning but we all wished that we could have stayed longer. Our rooms were immaculate with very comfortable beds and great facilities. We had a glass or two of wine with our hosts who then recommended Stumpers in town for dinner - a great recommendation!
We woke to clear blue skies and a great breakfast - eggs Benedict and fruit picked fresh from the garden.
We would definitely highly recommend Rimu Lodge.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenfingers1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    25
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
98
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newark Notts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were made very welcome by Helen and Peter. The room was spotlessly clean, well appointed with a lovely ensuite. The views from the room and the decking were fantastic. We were given lots of tips on where to go and what to do the next day. The breakfast was excellent . We wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scodgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Rimu Lodge is off the beaten path, but a great place!! The view was gorgeous and the Helen was amazing! We had a flat tire and she helped us get it fixed right away, with their local mechanic. She also recommended that we visit Pancake Rocks (and that the drive made it that much more worth it)...it wasn't on our itinerary, but we're very glad that we made the trip! She was right!!!

Room Tip: We had the Kereru Room and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakeTime2Travel_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a lovely surprise,we wondered where we were going as it was off the beaten track from Hokitka,well worth the drive.would highly recommend,views unsurpassed and Helen was very accommodating,she lit the beautiful open fire in the lounge so that we could enjoy our picnic dinner as you get over eating out.
Good stop if you are making your way to Greymouth or Franz Josef.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms have views so would not be disappointed at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackiecresswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Rimu Lodge was the second stop on the South Island during our trip around New Zealand. It is a beautiful house, in a great location. We stayed for four nights in the Korimako Room, which was absolutely lovely - could not have wished for anything better. Helen and Peter were great hosts. Peter was kind enough to let Bernie use his fly-fishing equipment, which was extremely generous of him. Hokitika is a really lovely little town and we cannot recommend Rimu Lodge highly enough if you are visiting the Hokitika area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a wonderful one night stay here whilst driving down the West Coast.Helen and Peter made us very welcome and the accomodation was superb with stunning views out over the countryside.The breakfast was also really good and this was Kiwi hospitality at its finest.Would certainly recommend this place if you're looking for a good quality B&B in the area.Its a few miles outside town but very easy to find

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I returned to the Rimu Lodge, and, again, we were thrilled! The Lodge is as beautiful as ever with a gorgeously appointed room overlooking breathtaking New Zealand scenery. Helen and Peter Walls are wonderful hosts. We overlapped the Wild Foods Festival in Hokitika, and being above town was wonderful. The lodge is a true gem in every way!! We are looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anneowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hokitika
4.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
4.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
10.1 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
3.5 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.0 mi away
Birdsong
Birdsong
#2 of 17 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimu Lodge

Property: Rimu Lodge
Address: 33 Seddons Terrace Road | Rimu, Hokitika 7842, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rimu Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in native bush, on a ridge top, Rimu Lodge gazes out across the Hokitika River, across farmland to the mountains beyond. You will be immediately struck by the absolute silence and the sheer majesty of the surroundings where you can truly relax and take in the splendour of native New Zealand bush, snow clad mountains and the Hokitika River running through fertile farmlands. Rimu Lodge is this place. Four individually styled en-suite rooms (two ground floor, two first floor), all taking maximum advantage of the wonderful views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rimu Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing