We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely town, Lovely motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I lived in 252 beachside only 1 night, but I experienced a lot: I watched the sunset, which just 3 minutes away; I saw the glowworm cave, just 5-10 minute away...
The room is just fine, there are enough facilities for cooking, 50mb free wifi, very warm owner, what else are you expect?
非常喜欢Hokitika这个小城,这家Motel也很喜欢,虽然不是多么豪华的条件,但简单周全又实用,价格公道,对于自驾的人来说,非常满意了。Motel离海边几步路,看了日落,非常美丽。晚上9点左右走路5-10分钟去看旁边的萤火虫洞,很棒的体验。店主大妈很热情,人很NICE,介绍周边的景点和相关信息,以后有朋友要去的话,我还是会推荐这家。

Room Tip: If u don't drive, here is a little far from the town center.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baihehai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 175 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our room was clean and very comfortable for the one night we spent in Hoki. The reception was helpful and friendly helping us find fun things to do.
Take the short walk to the beach or the glow worm dell.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ojichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hokitika accommodation was scarce. We hadn't booked ahead. The Aneden Motel where we stopped because their no vacancy sign wasn't up, was full, but was very helpful finding what was the last available room at nearby Beachside Motels. I confirmed directly with the reception at Beachside that although it was over our budget at $155, we would take it and drive there immediately. We arrived less than 5 minutes later to find another couple being checked in. As "Duty Motel", they did find us an alternative similarly priced bed for the night elsewhere, but with demand at a premium in Hokitika that night, even if we hadn't turned up, there was little chance that the room would have remained vacant. A bad call all for the sake of a 5 minute wait.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank barnabusbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here in a campervan in December 2012. We enjoyed Hoki' very much, admittedly we did have bright sunshine for the 2 days we were there (which might be unusual). It's a bit of a "Whacky" town, and seems to have an strong "Arty" community.
The Reception people were very helpful and the facilities clean. It's a bit of a hike into town, but it's an easy walk either along the driftwood strewn volcanic sand beach, or along the road.
Great beach for building a campfire in the evening (Plenty of driftwood)
Great Cafe & Deli at the Business end of Revell St roughly opposite the sock museum - it's got a cheese room!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wills68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a studio unit which was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The owners were very helpful and recommended places to eat in town, even giving us vouchers for a free glass of wine each. The motel is an older one, but nice and quiet - the only negative was the water pressure in our shower was very weak. Overall very comfortable and good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiWanderlust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at 252 Beachside on way to Wanaka. We only stayed one night and the owner was very helpful, letting us know that the main bridge was down on our drive the next day to Wanaka. He told us of places to eat and agreed to update us on any news of the bridge. There was a basic children's park which was greatly received by the kids, though we didn't venture to the pool. The rooms were spacious and though basic had all that you needed. The parking right up to the door was fantastic for unloading the car.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevTren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed one night on the way through to Queenstown. It was lovely. The unit was tidy and well appointed and we slept well. The owners were amazing and really went out of their way to let us know what to see and do in the area. The one low point was the shower pressure which was rather poor.
However, lovely location, quiet and the walk to the beach, which took just minutes, and the sunset were we're treated to was stunning. Great time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.6 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park

Address: 252 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range: $87 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the beach in a quiet location. 4 Cottages with full kitchens sleep 4. Large group/family units sleep 5 or 6. These units have a full kitchen and open out into an enclosed garden area with childrens playground and BBQ facing west its lovely to relax here at the end of a day. We also have 4 studio units nice and spacious perfect for travelling couples with a separate kitchenette with double hot plate microwave and fridge. Our campervan park is compact and only holds 11 caravans or campervans we have a kitchen, laundry and wheelchair access bathroom. Also in the campervan park are 3 basic cabins suitable for backpackers or people on a budget. Our outdoor swimming pool is seasonal but sheltered and we are a short walk to the beach and glow worm dell. WE HAVE NO TENT SITES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing