We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just made it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived in Hokitika late in the afternoon on the Labor Day long weekend. The first place we tried was booked out so we jumped at the chance of securing one of the last accommodations at Beachside. Even though we were a couple, we settled for a two bedroom unit. I was a bit put off at first as the decor, being mostly in shades of depressing blue/greys/blacks, was certainly no kind of aesthetic triumph, however everything was spotlessly clean and set up for functional convenience. The light above the dining table had blown and each time we tried to connect two heaters to the adaptor, both heaters stopped functioning, but despite this we were warm, were able to cook easily and slept comfortably that night! It might be called "Beachside", but it's not beside the beach and there are no beach views - nonetheless, a perfectly adequate accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brucie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 175 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hokitika was our first stay on our south island road trip. I travelled with my husband and our 8 month old baby in a motorhome. The hosts were really lovely, very accommodating and gave us useful tips on what to do around town. They also gave us the key to the disabled bathroom which was incredibly useful when it came to showering in the morning with a baby. There were a few small cobwebs as it hadn't been used in a while but we had been informed of this when given the key. The only downside was nowhere to out our clothes and toiletries but it was a disabled toilet, not a specifically designed family bathroom.

We saw the beautiful west coast sunset by walking across the road, down a path and to the beach. The glow worm dell is within walking distance but unfortunately we didn't get to make it there (sleeping baby). Well worth the drive out to hokitika gorge, absolutely stunning, and around lake kaniere where there are a few walks worth doing.

The campervan site is small and the facilities are old but it is true, genuine, west coast hospitality. The kitchen facility was great, there was free use of equipment, and everything, including the bathrooms were cleaned to a very high standard.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank KiwiColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Our group stayed here in late May for just one night. It is right across the street from a beautiful beach and the accommodations are self-contained (kitchenettes) and wonderful! Brian and Adele went above and beyond in service by giving me a lift to the airport to pick up my rental car. They also have a very nice spa/hot tub (for a small fee) which was so relaxing for tired muscles. It is about a 10-15 minute walk into town where there are a few restaurants. In the winter, there are only a few options for dinner (its the shoulder season in May I think). This place was wonderful with terrific hosts and great accommodations! Thank you Brian and Adele!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Rooms nice and warm, beds comfy, owners very welcoming, what else is required. Place is clean, tidy, when checking in, we were given very good information about things to do in the local area.

I would highly recommend staying @ 252 Beachside anytime.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

booked for 2 nights after driving from Queenstown stayed 3 the units were large & very clean.
and owners were very obliging hosts.
a drive up the arahura river valley & to lake Kaniere was a very worthwhile trip and a bush walk
which any one would enjoy.weka & other native birds are plentiful and the many different fungi
including a beautiful brilliant blue toadstool? the photo i took on the phone i showed to my grandchildren explaining this was the famous kaniere blue which was a drug much sought after
by the locals but very rare.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Beachside Motel is a good option for a family stay. While the facilities are old, the units are spacious, comfortable and clean. The receptionist is a mine of knowledge of Hokitika and made us feel like VIP's. We will call again, but next time for a longer period.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidKriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had an overnight stay here to explore the gorgeous beach, glow worm dell, and quaint town of Hokitika. During our check in, Adele gave us various tips on places to eat, shop, and visit as well as touring nearby Hokitika Gorge.

The two bedroom unit we booked was lovely and spacious. The well equipped kitchen allowed us to cook our evening meal and save a few bucks instead of eating in a restaurant. Electric blankets and a heater were available in case it got cold. Compared to the other properties were stayed in, the bathroom was a lot bigger. A flat screen TV was also provided in the living area. For those with little kids, the enclosed playground equipped with swings and a trampoline would be much appreciated.

The location of this motel was one big plus for us:

1. A beach access footpath is located just across
2. The glow worm dell is just a few minutes walking distance away. Bring a torch on your way there
3. It is quiet & peaceful since it is in the other end of town. But since Hokitika is very small, it is not far away from everything

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banzai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.6 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park

Address: 252 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range: $87 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the beach in a quiet location. 4 Cottages with full kitchens sleep 4. Large group/family units sleep 5 or 6. These units have a full kitchen and open out into an enclosed garden area with childrens playground and BBQ facing west its lovely to relax here at the end of a day. We also have 4 studio units nice and spacious perfect for travelling couples with a separate kitchenette with double hot plate microwave and fridge. Our campervan park is compact and only holds 11 caravans or campervans we have a kitchen, laundry and wheelchair access bathroom. Also in the campervan park are 3 basic cabins suitable for backpackers or people on a budget. Our outdoor swimming pool is seasonal but sheltered and we are a short walk to the beach and glow worm dell. WE HAVE NO TENT SITES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing