We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Friendly B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 17 Hokitika B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good, Friendly B&B”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Teichelmann's back in December and found it a great little place to stay if you're heading through Hoki. It's as clean and comfortable as you'd hope for (with definite echoes of a typical English B&B) but it's Frances and Brian who really make the place what it is - lovely, friendly people with great knowledge of the area and a real passion for its history (this extends to an uncanny resemblance to Dr Teichelmann himself in Brian's case!). What's more, they both seemed like they loved what they do and actually enjoy having guests in their home, which isn't always the case!

Thanks Frances and Brian, you helped to make our honeymoon 'sweet as'.

Tom and Frances

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tom020681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
140
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A welcome with tea as we arrived was just the start of a nice stay here. Brian has a lot of knowledge about the town, it's history and the local restaurants and is happy to share this! The room was clean and comfortable. Hokitika is well worth a visit and makes a perfect stopover on the way down the West Coast and this fine historic house is a good choice to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claptonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent just one night here, arriving in the late afternoon and leaving after breakfast, but it was a great spot. It's a pretty typical, New England-style B&B with very comfortable and clean rooms. Frances and Brian are great hosts and the breakfast was very good. They also made a great recommendation of fish and chips at Dulcie's which were a highlight. I'd definitely recommend Teichelmann's .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveler2014580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Then be sure to stay here! These folks know their town inside out and will be happy to share that information with you over tea and cookies when you arrive, or any time you come up with a question. Everything was spotless and the breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Any room will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjdrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Arrived tired, cross and over travelled. Left after good night sleep, informed chat and information in a wonderful garden we would never have found on our own. Frances and Brian do everything to make sure you have the best hokitika experience. The house and garden are clean and charming and the breakfasts really excellent. They know how to roast a tomato. Should we ever return to hokitika and its intriguing sock museum we shall return to this delightful bed and breakfast,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loupwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for one night and were welcomed with a pot of tea and homemade shortbread - very welcome after having been driving all day.

Friendly hosts who have created a lovely ambience in this B&B which has a very interesting history. Spotlessly clean B & B with some nice personal touches throughout. Gave us vouchers for a free drink at two different restaurants in town. Hosts shared good local knowledge with us.

Frances recommended the Aviation Centre/Museum in Blenheim (that was our next stop) and she was spot on - it is a wonderful visitor attraction.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JellyBean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a lovingly restored house and the owners have created some interesting historical displays. Frances & Brian were very friendly, breakfast was more than satisfactory, and our bedroom was very comfortable and pleasantly furnished and decorated. Overall we felt that this was a first class B&B.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.5 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 20 Hamilton Street | Hokitika Central, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'History . . . With a Touch of Class'. Historic home centrally located in the heritage area of Hokitika. Comfortable en-suite rooms with king and queen beds. Separate guest lounge. A short walk to restaurants, cafes, interesting craft galleries and the wild romantic beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing