We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Handy to Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Handy to Town”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Good price for a clean and comfortable room. Very minimal traffic noise (its on the main road)
So very handy to town... a few minutes walk and you are there. 5 minutes walk to the coast where we saw a lovely West Coast sunset.

Room Tip: Have stayed at a couple of Bella Vista motel over the years and have not been able to fault them
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thermalbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We really appreciate your comments in your review, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. So glad you enjoyed your stay at our motel and in Hokitika. Hope to see you again when you next visit The West Coast.

Regards
Gary and Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    102
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
149
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Really helpful staff on arrival. Lovely hotel, very clean rooms, very well equipped, beds very comfortable. Lots of options around to get food. Lots of restaurants. Walk along the beach is very nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drucey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hi, we really appreciate your positive comments, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our motel and in our town. We hope you had a wonderful time touring round New Zealand. All the best to you both.

Regards
Gary and Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worongary, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the balla vista for 1 night the room was clean and tidy
We were close enough to walk into town for dinner which was great after driving all day . We thought that it might be noisy on the main highway but didnt hear the trucks once inside .Definitely would stay again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Many thanks for writing a review about your stay with us, we appreciate your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your night and hope you had a great holiday in New Zealand.

Regards
Gary and Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire , England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Wasn't a fan of Hokitika but this hotel was really good for the price. Roomy and comfortable, little area to make food etc and good sized bathroom, good place to relax after a walk along the beach and through the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thanks a heap for your great comments regarding your stay with us, so pleased you were happy with your accommodation, Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in our wonderful country.

Thanks again,
Gary and Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I would have loved to have given this motel an "excellent" rating.
The welcome when we arrived was great, and the room was immaculately clean. It was nice too to see the effort made to avoid wasting electricity - the first place I have been where the TV was switched off at the wall.
However, the location is such that, certainly in the upstairs room that we had, the road noise detracts from what otherwise would have been a perfect motel for a light sleeper such as myself.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Your wonderful comments are really appreciated, thanks very much for taking the time to write a review. We try very hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay at our motel. We do offer ear plugs to guests if they are concerned about road noise and are light sleepers. Hope to see you again if you are ever in Hokitika.

Regards
Gary and Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our trip to Hokitika was very short and this was our first experience of a Bella Vista Motel so we were keen to see how that would go as we had a number of Bella Vistas booked in destinations to come. Hokitika set a really high standard for us and were really impressed with the quality of the accommodation and helpfulness of the hosts. We had a lovely meal in Stumpers and were really glad we took our host's recommendation to book ahead for the evening as it was really busy! Food was excellent and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor and that's what we got. No complaints there then!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We are so pleased you had a great time in Hokitika, glad you had an enjoyable stay at our motel and a great meal at Stumpers. Many thanks for writing a review on Trip Advisor and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.

Kind regards
Gary and Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Here in Hokitika too I’ve chosen to stay at Bella Vista Motel because of the peculiarity of the units which offer more privacy and comfort. In every place the layout of the rooms and their annexes (kitchenette, bathroom etc.) are perfectly the same. And here too I’ve found the same attention for the guests and the free wi-fi. And I’ve been given –as usual- a ground floor room. This should be ok, but when above your head, on the second floor, arrive new guests that ignore the respect for those who stay downstairs and their shoes tap on the floor as they walk in and around, it starts to get a bit boring. More soundproofing material should be used, and more information about the basic rules of the way of living in public places should be given.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our motel. We are sorry the guests in the unit above you were noisy, we do tell people that there are guests in rooms below them when we take them to their rooms. We suggest that you ask for an upstairs unit when making a booking in the future. We do try to accommodate guests requests if at all possible. We hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand.

Gary and Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.5 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

Property: Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Address: 52 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing