We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the balla vista for 1 night the room was clean and tidy
We were close enough to walk into town for dinner which was great after driving all day . We thought that it might be noisy on the main highway but didnt hear the trucks once inside .Definitely would stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Many thanks for writing a review about your stay with us, we appreciate your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your night and hope you had a great holiday in New Zealand.

Regards
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 246 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Wasn't a fan of Hokitika but this hotel was really good for the price. Roomy and comfortable, little area to make food etc and good sized bathroom, good place to relax after a walk along the beach and through the town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thanks a heap for your great comments regarding your stay with us, so pleased you were happy with your accommodation, Trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in our wonderful country.

Thanks again,
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I would have loved to have given this motel an "excellent" rating.
The welcome when we arrived was great, and the room was immaculately clean. It was nice too to see the effort made to avoid wasting electricity - the first place I have been where the TV was switched off at the wall.
However, the location is such that, certainly in the upstairs room that we had, the road noise detracts from what otherwise would have been a perfect motel for a light sleeper such as myself.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Your wonderful comments are really appreciated, thanks very much for taking the time to write a review. We try very hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay at our motel. We do offer ear plugs to guests if they are concerned about road noise and are light sleepers. Hope to see you again if you are ever in Hokitika.

Regards
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our trip to Hokitika was very short and this was our first experience of a Bella Vista Motel so we were keen to see how that would go as we had a number of Bella Vistas booked in destinations to come. Hokitika set a really high standard for us and were really impressed with the quality of the accommodation and helpfulness of the hosts. We had a lovely meal in Stumpers and were really glad we took our host's recommendation to book ahead for the evening as it was really busy! Food was excellent and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor and that's what we got. No complaints there then!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

We are so pleased you had a great time in Hokitika, glad you had an enjoyable stay at our motel and a great meal at Stumpers. Many thanks for writing a review on Trip Advisor and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.

Kind regards
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Here in Hokitika too I’ve chosen to stay at Bella Vista Motel because of the peculiarity of the units which offer more privacy and comfort. In every place the layout of the rooms and their annexes (kitchenette, bathroom etc.) are perfectly the same. And here too I’ve found the same attention for the guests and the free wi-fi. And I’ve been given –as usual- a ground floor room. This should be ok, but when above your head, on the second floor, arrive new guests that ignore the respect for those who stay downstairs and their shoes tap on the floor as they walk in and around, it starts to get a bit boring. More soundproofing material should be used, and more information about the basic rules of the way of living in public places should be given.

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OscarItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

We thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our motel. We are sorry the guests in the unit above you were noisy, we do tell people that there are guests in rooms below them when we take them to their rooms. We suggest that you ask for an upstairs unit when making a booking in the future. We do try to accommodate guests requests if at all possible. We hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand.

Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed in one of the downstairs rooms, had a very comfortable bed, the shower was decent, and good information booklets. Staff were happy to help with any inquiries particularly in suggesting places to eat, and gave a voucher for one of the local restaurants.

Only down side would be the parking, the parks are not allocated to certain rooms, and you can end up a fair distance from your room if you drive into town for dinner.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank E4g1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

We appreciate your comments in your review and glad you had an enjoyable stay at our motel. Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor.

Regards
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Nice modern motel room with up to date facilities. The room was a trifle cramped, hot and noisy but the bed was comfortable, the shower worked well and we got a good range of channels on the TV (this is a bonus for travellers on the West Coast). The Bella Vista is within walking distance of the township.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

We appreciate your comments in your review. Yes we are in a great location being very close to the town centre. Because of this and being on the main road we do have ear plugs available for guests who are concerned about traffic noise. Hope you enjoyed your time in Hokitika.

Regards
Gary and Glenys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
95 reviews
7.7 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.6 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

Address: 52 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range: $78 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing