We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New and close to everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“New and close to everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at 10 motels in NZ & this can be said of all of them: they are owner operated (not chains), spotlessly clean, contain refrigerator, microwave, TV, blow dryer, plenty of hot water & the beds are comfortable, but the rooms are on the small side. They have absolutely terrible in-room coffee. Expect to pay 30% more for comparable food & lodging than in the U.S.
Helpful staff in a new or near new facility.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thank you for your great comments about our motel. Glad you enjoyed staying with us and hope to see you again when you are next in Hokitika.

Glenys and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    100
    29
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
146
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shannon new zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Helped us out by storing our wet motorbike gear and bikes in their shed - a big help thanks

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It was no problem to put your motorbikes and wet weather gear in our garage to dry out after your very wet ride to Hokitika. Hope you had better weather during the rest of your trip. Hope to see you when you next visit Hokitika.

Glenys and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed one night here during an extensive road trip of NZ's South Island. The property was easy to find on the main road, and was just a few blocks walk to the pleasant town centre. a little further to the beach and river mouth, with stunning sunset and early morning views.

The manager was very welcoming and helpful. Our having set off the fire alarm at our previous location the night before, she turned off the alarm system for us whilst we cooked, in case it were to happen again! Our room was small but adequate and meticulously clean. Cooking facilities were not great, but the electric frying pan was sufficient for our needs this night.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for staying with us during your tour of the South Island, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. We really appreciate your positive feedback in your review and hope to see you again when you are next in our wonderful town. Hokitika certainly offers some amazing sunsets, nothing beats an evening stroll along the beach as the sun goes down.

Gary and Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed three nights in this lovely motel. Very friendly owners and comfortable accommodation. Spotlessly clean, well serviced with guest laundry on-site.Owner provided local information to help our visit. Great location for scenic flight over Mt Cook and glaciers and for the Trans Alpine express from Greymouth to Christchurch. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GKP_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
It was our pleasure to have you stay at our motel. Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Hokitika especially the scenic flight over Mount Cook and the glaciers you did with Wilderness Wings. Hope to see you again when you are next in Hokitika.

Gary and Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

If I am ever in Hokitika again, I will be staying here without a doubt. The room was absolutely spotless. And free UK TV. Couldn't ask for better. A great modern, clean, comfortable place to stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outatime88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of our motel. We really appreciate your positive comments and hope to see you again when you are next in Hokitika.

Gary and Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, NZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Good advice about restaurant booking given on arrival and we were provided with plenty of vouchers for internet access. Comfortable bed, powerful shower and helpful mote guide. We left a bag behind and owner contacted us and on sent it promptly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cajeNelson_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your positive review of our motel, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you again when you are next in Hokitika.

Gary and Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

Very welcoming hosts and spotlessly clean unit. The WiFi went on the blitz as a storm passed over Hokitika and the hosts were very sympathetic and helpful.
My only complaint is that in the morning the next door carpark(?) was very noisy, starting before 7am, and I really didn't need to hear the radio blaring from there or nearby at that time either.
But apart from that, a good night's sleep in very comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bvhokitika, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Hokitika, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our motel, we are sorry you were woken early. We hope to see you again next time you come to Hokitika.

Gary and Glenys
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.5 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.7 mi away
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

Property: Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Address: 52 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing