We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely clean motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely clean motel”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is a lovley clean motel with everything you need and just down from the main street.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    102
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
149
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Nice, clean and comfortable motel. I liked having free internet which isn't very common these days. The only complaint is that the room felt a little cramped for space. We did not mind that as we were using Hokitika as a base to explore the West Coast and all we needed was good night's sleep.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

One night stay. Arrived late in evening. Host/owner (Gary?) showed us to the room and had already switched on heating, a thoughtful touch. Room comfortable. Kitchen area adequate. Wired high speed internet available at no cost. On morning of departure, did laundry, but it hadn't dried. Owner said we could leave it in the dryer while we went on an excursion and collect on the way back. Took road trip to Arthur's pass - stunning drive, but were back later than expected to collect our laundry. Someone had already taken it from the dryer and bagged it. Never had the chance to thank whoever it was, but I'm assuming it was the owner. Really can't find any fault with this hotel. Would stay again and would recommend.

Stay dates Sept 25, 2010, 1 nights. Paid NZD 105/night, booked through hotel web site.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loxian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Although just off the main state highway 6 you could not hear traffic or anything going on around you. Rooms were very clean, beds were clean and comfortable and bathroom airy and bright.

Staff were very helpful and advised of places to go and things to do there.

We only stayed a single night to break up the west coast travelling but would definitely stay here again. Good value, good location and good all round ambience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiderMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We found the Bella Vista Hokitika exceptionally clean, fresh and friendly.
We had two units which were interconnecting.
The cost was exceptional.
I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baradine, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This motel unit is welll sited on the main highway as you enter Hokitika , five - ten minutes walk to all of the tourist attractions and restaurants.
We had a large 2 bedroomed unit with kitchen and sperarate bathroom & toilet that adjoined to the next unit, perfect for a family traveling or like us , two couples.
There is a service station opposite that sells basics such as bread , milk etc
Hosts were very well informed re the attractions to visit and very hospitable and as it is part of a chain we recieved a 10% discount on our next Bella Vista Motel stay.
Large off street parking area

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. The room contained everything you would want. The service they provided was the best. They recommended a great restaurant and advised us as to places to visit and the best route to take. They were wonderful to work with and I would stay with them again without question. The price was great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpegdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.5 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Hokitika

Property: Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
Address: 52 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing