We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Jade Backpackers
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great backpacker on center Hokitika with car park on back building.
wash machine and dryer pretty cheap
possibility eating on quiet terrace. close to every shop and library for free internet!
A good sized bathroom and good kitchen facilities.
staff was nice and friendly.
Really good time in this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 121212laura121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Hi
Thank you for your review your thoughts are important to us.
We glad that you had a great stay with us here in Hokitika and enjoyed your self while you were here.
We hope the rest of your travels in New Zealand are as good as here.
Safe Travels
Mountain Jade Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 79 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a really nice hostel. My wife and I had a nice room. It was very clean and tidy. there was a great TV lounge area. This hostel is very well located in the centre of town. The owner operator was very friendly and helpful. He told me about a great restaurant "Cafe De Paris" just around the corner. I would highly recommend this Hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Hi Tim
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Keep safe in the skies.
Happy travels
Mountain Jade Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

When organising a field trip with about 20 students to the South Island of New Zealand, accommodation is a critical issue. You do not want to spend a lot of money, but, at the same time, you want clean premises with the possibility to have communal areas and a kitchen. This Backpackers accommodation was very good for us. Located in town, near restaurants and pubs, and not far from the beach it was ideal. There are enough showers for a large group, and they are clean. Rooms are relatively small, but, again, very decent, somber but clean. Beds are OK, but, then, I was very tired after a long day of teaching and driving...so, I slept soundly.
The "chap at the front desk" is really friendly. Besides, there is a coffee shop downstairs if you crave a cappuccino and...there is the jade factory. If you stay at the backpackers, you get a little discount. If you are in a hurry, it is really convenient. You can buy gifts for your loved ones...some cheap, some dear. The quality is good.
Finally, we had a great time on the beach, watching the sun go down. And the swimming pool is just around the corner. Opens at 6 am, it is heated, and costs 5 NZ dollars, plus 1 dollar for renting goggles. If I remember correctly it is a 50 m pool. Bring your swimsuit, it is worth.

Room Tip: WE had a twin (my husband was also teaching) at the corner of the main building. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvia_frisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJadeBackpackers, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you and your group had a great stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you all again next year and hope you had a great trip for the rest of your travels.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were hesitant about entering here but were very pleasantly surprised.

We were offered a room for 3 off the car park at the rear which was completely self contained, quiet, very clean and spacious.
Two double bunks..........(one double 3 single)

A good sized bathroom (would suit wheelchair or a person with mobility problems) and good kitchen facilities.

Excellent value and easy walk to pub, fish & chip shop, cafes and points of interest around town.

Room Tip: Ask for room at rear - off carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJadeBackpackers, Owner at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Hi Thank you for your reveiw.
We are glad that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed the wonders of Hokitika.
We hope you have a great time on the rest of your trip in New Zealand.
Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first stop on our South island road trip.
We went to the local I-site and asked for a room at about $100 and that we didn't mind a back packers as long as we could get a self contained or at least en-suite double room.
We paid around $90 (can't remeber exact amount, give or take a couple of dollars).
Jade Mountain is part of the same building as the Jade Factory, entrance is a door next to the shop, dorms are above the shop and our room was outside at the back seperate from the dorms but next to the factory/jade working room.
We were told that the carpark was just at the back, it was a bit confusing as it's actually the Jade factory carpark.
The room could have slept up to 5 people there was a 3/4 bed with a single bunk above it and another set of single bunks. The room was more or less a studio with a seperate shower room/toilet.
We cooked a meal on the 2 ring counter top oven but found as with most of these little ovens you can only use one part at a time with any effect, i.e use the oven and the hob doesn't heat up and vice versa.
the manager was friendly, as was the old fella in the workshop who we spoke to a few times.
Everything is close by as you're in the town.
There's a swimming pool more or less next door which the OH made use of early next morning.
One word of warning, the factory workshop does start up early so if you're in the outer room that we were, don't expect a lie in. Fortunately we were awake early anyway.
all in all an OK place if you're on a budget.
Whilst there we went for a walk to the look-out point which is beautiful at sunset and also suprisingly busy. In the morning we went for a walk to the beach and there were lots of driftwood scultures from a recent competition.
Hokitika is good for 1 day at the most maybe longer if you want to visit the lake, gorge & tree top walk way. When we left we visited Hokitika Gorge, which is further than expected but worth the visit.
We did not go to the new Tree Top walkway but have been told it's good. You can also visit the glow worm dell which you pass on your way into town if coming from the north or Arthurs Pass

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJadeBackpackers, Owner at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Hi Thank you for your reveiw.
The Jade Factory carpark is our carpark as well.
I do show all people out to the self contained units and show them the carpark so they know where it is.
Plus I am looking at what other options I can do for the cooker to make it more usable.
We hope you had a great time in Hokitika and enjoy the rest of your stay in New Zealand.
Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night here to break up our journey from Abel Tasman to Wanaka. The hostel was peaceful. It has a great location right above what looked like a small shopping mall which you can look down on which was different.

The facilities were clean and the chap on the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We had a basic double room which was perfectly fine, save for the bed. The springs in the matress stuck in our back all night which made for a very uncomfortable night's sleep - certainly the bed we had could do with upgrading. It may be that we were just unlucky and all the other beds are fine!

With the exception of the bed this hostel was lovely and great value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swansea_Girl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJadeBackpackers, Owner at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for your Reveiw.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are sorry you did not enjoy the bed I have addressed this and upgraded our mattresses in this double room.
We hope you had a good time in Hokitika and have a good stay in New Zealand.
Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We spent a night here at the Mountain Jade backpackers, we hadn't booked anything and turned up and managed to get a great little mini studio with its own kitchen bathroom facilities and room for 5 people, we were in a group of 4 and was just fantastic. Everything was clean and the man behind the front desk was incredible helpful and rather knowledgeable about the area, he recommended we took a late night trip to the glow worm dell where we were blown away by the sight of these fantastic creatures, (free) The area is a pretty quiet town and more of a through town or an overnight stop. Everything is very close by, supermarket, video store, pharmacy and even a sock factory if that takes your fancy. It was relatively cheap for NZ and had a great selection of Board games and dvds for a quiet night in. Our night consisted of 6 hours of Monopoly. Great Clean hostel and right by the jade factory.

Room Tip: If your in a larger group, try and get one of the contained group rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John J, Manager at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Hi Sophie
Thank you for your review I am glad you had a great stay with us while you were here.
We hope the rest of your trip has gone well for you.
Safe travels
Mountain Jade Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.2 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.6 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Jade Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Jade Backpackers

Address: 41 Weld Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range: $18 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Mountain Jade Backpackers it is our aim to make your stay with us as relaxing as possible.We are only a few minutes walk from the beach and river.Plus the local craft stores and cafe's/Restaurants are only a short walk from us.We are situated at the clock tower corner above the Jade Factory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Jade Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing