We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Jade Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation(Hokitika)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Annabelle Motel(Hokitika)
$91
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$97
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jade Court Motor Lodge(Hokitika)(Great Value!)
$75
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park(Hokitika)(Great Value!)
$85
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika(Hokitika)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
41
33
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
33
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsown bathroomself contained unitclock towerthe kitchenprivate roomcentre of townone nightgreat feelfree unlimited wifistayed here for nightsbed dormgreat central locationthe owner managerhokitika gorgeoff street parkingabel tasmanlounge area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 89 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed here for just one night as we drove up the west coast....as I figured most people do. Our private room was cute and clean. The bathroom was fine as well and it was kind of neat that you could look into the jade factory shop from above in the backpackers. However, the hostel had a funky smell when you first entered and the kitchen was gross....and I am pretty laid back about that sort of thing. The sponges/cleaning supplies desparately needed to be changed and the dish soap looked like it had been watered down. There aren't really a lot of options for Hokitika so I say this place is just fine for one night but I definitely don't think I would want to stay here longer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurennz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed here for two nights on my way up the West Coast. Cheapest place in town, but doesn't feel cheap: clean, well-maintained, all the facilities you'd expect in a good backpackers, and a very pleasant and helpful owner-operator. Literally across the street from where InterCity drops you off, too. Added bonus is the cheapest internet I've seen in NZ at NZ$2 p.h. or NZ$5 per day (library next door has free internet, but it's time limited and not open 24 hours, obviously). Hoki is not party central, but is a pleasant, laid-back beach town to rest up for a couple days. It's got a good museum, a decent golf course, great long beach... and a huge wheelbarrow!

Room Tip: The largest dorm room was bright and airy, which was great. Might get pretty warm in there after a summer's day worth of sunshine though.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

if you check in early you have to go to the jewelry store to get the key and pay
there is really no one to give you any info, or ask any questions as the people working at the store are busy
the hostel is pretty clean, i stayed in a 8 bed shared dorm
it felt very cramped
there is a kitchen and a common area
the internet in the common area didn't work
overall it was ok for one night, if i stayed longer i would look into other hostels in Hokitika

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dzjohn, Owner at Mountain Jade Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Hi to all
We have taken over mountain jade Backpackers as of early May 2010 and have made a few changes to the layout of the rooms,all linen supplied plus we have taken out beds in two of the dorm rooms to make it more comfortable for people.
In the next month we will putting up a wall and door in between the lounge and rooms to make it quieter as well as taking the double bunk beds out of the double rooms and putting in standard double beds for more comfort.
We welcome all and hope everybody has a great stay in Hokitika.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si vous voyagez en famille ou même à trois ou quatre amis, optez pour les "self-contained units"!
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews