We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kapitea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kapitea Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hokitika B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had a wonderful one night stay at the Kapitea Ridge on our New Zealand holiday. We got in late so didn't have a lot of time there but the home is beautiful and Doreen and Geoff were so hospitable. They even found us coupons for a delicious dinner in town!! The gardens were gorgeous and the rooms soooo comfortable - wish we could have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlaYuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    11
    4
    7
    0
See reviews for
3
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

A truly wonderful location and the owners have made the place a showhome! We didn't even bother to go out in the evening and took advantage of the fish platter that Doreen and her husband prepared for us. In spite of the weather ( a but cloudy) the garden was a pleasure and our room very comfortable.
Nice touches such as honesty bar for a drink and cake on arrival.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireNicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stopped at Kapitea for one night. The hosts Doreen and Geoff are very friendly and attentive.
The lodge is very nice, well designed and decorated, with a large living area, a beautiful garden overlooking the ocean.
They had a last minute cancellation and upgraded us to a room with a fantastic view.
Doreen prepared a wonderful breakfast.
The place is 10 minutes drive from the closest restaurant in Hokitika. But I doubt you can get a better accommodation in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sar8a2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blauzac, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had a lovely welcome from Doreen and Geoff. We were their only guests but nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was clean and modern with everything we could possibly need. We had free wifi which was a nice change. Lovely views from the room over the ocean and delightful garden. A perfect breakfast.

Room Tip: Eat at Stumps in Hokitika
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Doreen and Geoff were wonderful hosts in their beautifully appointed contemporary lodge perched on a hill on the West Coast. We loved the large reception rooms with plenty of space for relaxing. The gardens were beautifully laid out. It was good for the soul to sit on the balcony of our room and look out over the fields to the Tasman Sea. Breakfast was amazing with local produce and set you up for the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a wonderful place, up a track across fields and into wooded area with flowers and peace. My wife descibed it as a Hobbit place. The welcome was excellent and the braekfasts super. The care and attention of the hosts is plain to see. From your room the Tasman seain all its beauty. It is quiet, and not too far from Hokitika.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Geoff and Doreen have created a marvellous retreat high on a ridge overlooking the sea. We received a warm welcome and had a room with a balcony with views of the sea and the lovely garden. The room was extremely well appointed and the bathroom modern. Free wi-fi is also available. We could not fault a single thing. Plenty of choice was provided for breakfast and was delicious. We only wished we were staying for more than one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydubsWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hokitika
9.9 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
9.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
2.1 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
9.9 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapitea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapitea Lodge

Property: Kapitea Lodge
Address: 53 Chesterfield Road | R.D. 2, Hokitika 7882, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kapitea Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management as of 1st November, 2014. After four years managing Ratanui Lodge in Golden Bay, we are thrilled to add Kapitea Lodge on the stunning West Coast to our operation. Kapitea Lodge overlooks the Tasman sea midway between Hokitika and Greymouth with 5 superbly decorated en-suite rooms 4 of the rooms have a private balcony or patio. Enjoy a spa to relax and unwind after a days traveling or stroll along the beach. Continental breakfast, evening canapes and house wine, and wifi are always free. Each evening a set 3 course dinner is served- reservations essential. Kapitea Lodge is your base for exploring Pancakes Rocks, the Hokitika Gorge, the newly-built West Coast Wilderness biking Trail, and Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kapitea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing