We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Motel over the bridge from the South”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hokitika
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heritage Highway Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First Motel over the bridge from the South”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed with friends here there for two days. The rooms are very clean and tidy and the service is friendly.
We cooked a meal which was successful but only two hobs but they were quick heat.
TV reception was average and the TVs are average (poor brand), not a criticism since this seems standard for most NZ motels.
What I would like to see is a white net across the windows or similar which would allow guests to relax in their rooms with privacy without having to draw the curtains - you either have a dark room and private or a light room and open - again this is common with many motels.
Price? We had a minor disagreement about the price quoted but I am sure this will be resolved. Do think the price is a little high for what you get and given it is Hokitika though may be this is standard for the area.
Recommended? Yes. You do get a good quiet nights sleep!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertWoolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Western Victoria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I had booked in a different motel at the last minute but on arrival found it was double booked and was sent to the Heritage Highway Motel.

It is a pleasant, modern Motel basically across the road from the main street, everything well presented and a superb spa bath in the unit (My body needed this after a fortnight of mountain/glacier/gorge walking.

Only negative is the NZ standard heating, this isnt the only motel, of trying to heat a largish room with those panelswhich have no fan to disperse the warmth.

I would definatly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely clean roomy motel. We had a double room but it had an extra single bed,large TV cooking facilities,lovely quiet heater,table and chairs to eat at. You don't always get that in motels. Would definitely recommend. Also just over the road from the town centre.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just stayed for 1 night on a weekend trip over from Christchurch but were very comfortable here! Lovely family room with the kids beds tucked away in the bedroom and the big bed out in the lounge area so that the grown-ups could sit at the table or watch TV after the kids were in bed. Kitchen well equipped, and had 6 glasses/plates etc. even though it was a room for 4 - one of those nice little touches that mean you don't have to instantly wash dishes or run out of bowls! Very conveniently located close to town - 5 min walk to get to cafes, shops, beach etc. Appreciated the little kids play area tucked behind the units too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This wasn't our 1st choice for our one night sat in Hokitika, but it might have been better than our original choice. Certainly it was closer to the town centre. I walked back from dinner in only a few minutes.
We had a two bedroom family unit, which was very clean and had plenty of space. Great big bathroom with a tremendous shower which means I'll overlook a few other faults, like the clear glass doors to the units. There's a curtain to draw when you're in the unit, but it's very hard to open and close the inward door when you're leaving the unit. This means that all your possessions are on display to anyone walking along the front of the units.
On a cold night the heating was adequate, but only the lounge area had any heating and we had to rely on the electric blankets for heat in the bedrooms.
Quilts on the beds were a little busy but I liked the towel/face washer folding arrangement.
No reason not to stay again should life take me back to Hokitika in the future

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fwombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Heritage Highway Motel is a good motel offering clean and comfortable accommodation without any stand-out features.

The motel room was clean and tidy with a good bathroom and only average beds. The heater was one of those tickity-tic fan types that makes an annoying racket every time it turns on. That should be replaced as we visited in May when the temperatures were low and the heater on was an absolute must.

The internet service was very good with excellent speed and a very reasonable cost per day ($5 I think)

The room rate was very reasonable and the overall experience was good. I am a firm believer that the test of a good motel is in the bed; the sleep experience determines the rating. The beds in this motel while average, were not great.

The owner was very friendly and informative and overall, I would recommend this motel as being one I would come back to again (but please replace those noisy heaters)

Room Tip: Get one at the back of the complex as it will be well off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hurlz1, Owner at Heritage Highway Motel, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Hi NZBeagle

Thanks for the review. We have replaced our fan heaters with convection heaters which are a lot better (and absolutely silent) and will make your stay the next time you visit a better experience.
Sorry to hear that you didnt find the beds that comfortable. We mostly get very positive somments about the comfort of our beds and some people even ask for the brand as they want to buy one the same. In saying that we are progressively replacing our beds

Cheers
Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Hotel is easy to find...the last place on the right before you go over the bridge. That was good to know at the end of a long drive...no driving in circles wonder where to go. There is lots of parking in front of the units and good night lighting, so I had no worries about heading out in the evening (the west-facing beach is reknown for fabulous sunsets). The hotel room was spotlessly clean and the kitchen has most things that you might want. I used the microwave mostly, but there is a stove-top and pots etc. The TV is BIG and I think ten channels to pick from. Good for a rainy afternoon. The hotel was full but I didn't hear any noise from the units around me. The office staff were friendly and I enjoyed my stay. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richards1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.7 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.3 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Highway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Highway Motel

Property: Heritage Highway Motel
Address: 12 Fitzherbert Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star quality motel. Wireless internet. 42' Flat screen TV's. Closest motel to the town centre. Avoid those parking hassles and stay with us. 14 Spacious units. Studio units sleep 1 - 3. One bedroom units sleep 1 - 4. Two bedroom units sleep 2 - 6. 6 Hole mini putt golf on site. Swimming pool across the road ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing