We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay great value4$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

we had a beach spa chalet, nice view of the sea only meters away, excellent facilities( great shower, big corner spa bath, decent sized kitchen) bedroom was upstairs with a very comfy bed and a TV great nights sleep listening to waves crashing i would highly recommend staying here! best accommodation in area would stay again :)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank cmbamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
There are newer reviews for Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

314 - 320 of 619 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed just one night here, but loved it. Our cabin has a sea view, plus a field with two highland cattle! The grounds were great with different animals, vicuna, pigs, goat in a well layed out & spacious area. Plantings lovely & cabin with all amenities & deck to sit out. A walk across the road to the Glow Worm Dell at nigh was an additional pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoreJournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We decided to break our journey from Fox Glacier to Abel Tasman. Shining Star was a good choice. Our cabin had sea views as the beach was only fifty meters away so we decided to dine in and enjoy the view. We watched our only DVD of the trip after dark, as the wild weather was not conducive to a beach walk at night. The Wi-Fi did not work on the first night. But, the manager explained that a new aerial was being fitted the next day, which it was. Visited Hokitika Gorge and Lake Kaniere, both worth a visit. The latest Booker Prize winner "The Luminaries" is set in Hokitika. Also, the Museum is worth a look, we had a chat with David and a couple from Yorkshire who lived in UAE.
Definitely a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: We were in a One Bedroom Apartment, which was very comfortable
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our stay here was a very comfortable experience. Our two bedroom apartment was clean and the kitchen was adequate. The heating unit kept the whole apartment nice and warm. We enjoyed strolling to town, only 1km or so away, via the beach. Loved the driftwood and green pebbles. Just a walk across the road was a glow worm dell which was a delight in the evening. We didn't get a chance to explore the whole park fully but it appeared to have a wide range of accommodation to suit all and it was very neat and well presented.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FarmFam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiningStarHokitika, Manager at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Shining Star.
I will pass your comments on to the staff as they work hard to ensure our guests stay is as pleasant as possible and deserve the praise.
We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have been traveleing extensively for the past 6 weeks in New Zealand. This is, without doubt, one of the best holiday parks we have seen. Even on a rainy winters day it felt like a cozy and nice place to stay. Amenities are clean and up to date. Shining Star really stands out compared to too many holiday parks that are outdated and really a sad sight. Short walk to the beach just makes the experience even better.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

What a lovely review. - Thank you. It is always nice to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
We hope the rest of your holiday went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

On the beach, rustic, clean & warm. Comfortable stay. Would have preferred to be able to use the WiFi on more than one device. Friendly staff who were able to assist with directions due to road closure.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ladyoflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for our feedback. We hope you enjoyed your extra ling journey with all of the beautiful sights.
Our apologies for the wifi as you would have been most welcome to another password for your extra device.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely location overlooking the beach and the rooms were reasonably furnished. However, we had three problems. First, we flew in so we could take a train to Christchurch which left at 1. We were told in no uncertain terms that there was no flexibility about us being out of the room at 10, so we were left with 3 hours of dead time. Second, the hotel is just over one mile from restaurants and any shops, which is fine if you have a car. A nice walk, but a walk. Third, the internet was only available for an hour, very slow, and kept cutting out. All something to be aware of. Seems like there are lots of hotels in the area that might work better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequenttraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiningStarHokitika, Owner at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments. As you say it is a lovely location and place to stay. Regarding checkout, there is some leniency in this if no one is booked to arrive. In this case there was, so as stated in the website and on your confirmation 10am is the check-out time.
Yes it is a 15 minute walk to town. We did offer you a ride into town but you chose to walk.
We are confused by your comments regarding the one hour free internet as we have unlimited free internet property wide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
560 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation

Address: 16 Richards Drive, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hokitika
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hokitika
Price Range: $81 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shining Star Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Best Western Hokitika
Hokitika Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing