We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in front of the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The rooms have all a great view over the ocean

The room we have had, was very nice room, spacious and clean, good decorated and a great deck in front of the room overlooking the beach and the ocean. This last would have been great, were it not that it started to rain at 5:00 pm and did not stop that evening.

Our plan to walk to the just outside the hotel located glowworm cave felt into the water.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Over-en-Naar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiningStarHokitika, Manager at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are please you enjoyed your stay with us (sorry about the rain) Love your photos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 634 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

rented a king chalet, which is really half of a building, but built so you don't see the other occupants. Faces the ocean with large grassy area and flax plants between building and the beach. We walked on the beach, which has gray sand, and lots of driftwood and seaweed. People from neighborhood were walking on the beach. Says that penguins breed nearby but we did not see any.

Staff in office is very knowledgable with suggestions of local things to do and places to go, such as local walks, ice cream shops, museums. Property has two cows, large pig, chickens, two alpacas, two goats as a small zoo that you can walk around and watch the animals. Also has a trampoline that children enjoyed.

Located right on main road, SH 6, enroute from Greymouth to the glaciers.

Room Tip: We chose the king chalet facing the ocean because we are 65 and decided to splurge a little. Nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyVegan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiningStarHokitika, Manager at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

I hope the ice cream was enjoyable after a long trip. We really appreciate you writing a review of your stay with us. We do like to hear back from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This isn't the most aesthecially pleasing place to stay but provides a comfortable bed, clean room with a good value price. The staff are friendly and efficient. Just stayed here one night and probably would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bel085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiningStarHokitika, Manager at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. It is good to hear you found the room and staff satisfactory,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our cabin was adequately fitted out with all the necessities. The log cabin is nothing too flash, but it was ok for a night in transit. As per other reviewers, I was expecting a view of the beach, but instead looked out at the alpacas. Did get a lovely view of the sunset from the deck though. The full kitchen was a bonus as there's not much else in the area.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one with a view if that's what you're expecting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monsta76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiningStarHokitika, Manager at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments we do appreciate it. We have a wide range of accommodation available to suit most budgets. If you are ever back this way you might like to up grade to a beachfront chalet to get the sea views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment that looked out over the beach. It had plenty of space for three and was extremely well set out with a comfy double bed that folded out from the wall in the lounge and two beds in the bedroom. The view from our deck was magic. Felt like we got far more then we paid for.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiningStarHokitika, Manager at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Fantastic. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the one bedroom apartment. Nothing beats sitting on the deck enjoying the view and sound of the Tasman Sea.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our chalet was near to the beach in an excellent quiet location. Spacious, clean and modern accommodation with excellent facilities. We liked the grass area at the front of the chalet surrounded by a fence with private gates onto an area which led onto the beach. It was great having breakfast sat on the decking and listening to the sea. The 30 minute free internet access on the computer in the office was a plus for us. Staff were all friendly, helpful and good to talk too . The price we paid was very good value for money. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurnleyKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiningStarHokitika, Manager at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thank you for your recommendation. It is so nice to hear guests have enjoyed their stay with us. There is definately something nice about being close to the sea.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The property website says "these chalets are located on the beachfront and all have great views of the sea. All the chalets have a deck with table and chairs." I imagined being able to sit at the table and look out to sea. The reality was that the view of the sea was minimal (the chalet we had was low , and from the deck, no beach and little sea was visible). They were not really beachfront (which to me implies that there is direct access, which there is not - there was a fenced off cow paddock albeit with very handsome animals), and the table was so rusted that one leg was only hanging loosely. On the positive side, the chalets themsleves were comfortable (although overpriced),and the internet access worked extremely well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShiningStarHokitika, Manager at Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thank you for your feed back. We are always interested in what guests impressions and views are.
There are naturally occuring sand dunes along the beach which are essential to help prevent the erosion that comes with being open to the sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#4 of 10 in Hokitika
570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation

Address: 16 Richards Drive, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hokitika
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hokitika
Price Range: $82 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shining Star Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Best Western Hokitika
Hokitika Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing