We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Reviewed February 7, 2011

The place was lovely.
Great value for money and the staff were fabulous and so helpful
Right on the beach......
Would stay again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanniemac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 591 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2011

Stayed here one night after a longer than expected trip from Wanaka. Had an excellent room over looking the beach. Very comfortable room and bed, excellent dinner although a bit unusual to have to go to and adjacent cafe(owned by the hotel) for breakfast. Some very interesting (and expensive) shops in the town.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjb185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed in room 21 in the old part of the hotel which is dingy and not up to an acceptable standard. Carpet was dirty, fan in shower sounded like a train, toilet flush would not stop. insecure window, no comfortable chair to sit on, no hairdryer (but an iron - not sure where or how it could be used!). The bed was comfy and clean but this did not make up for everything else. We paid the same price as the BEST accommodation we stayed in!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVandBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Beach Front Apartments were very roomy and to a good standard generally. For NZD 165 we had a double and a single bed, in the oceanview section (this is different to the cheaper rooms that do not have a sea view - ensure you clarify) with mini bar and most importantly, open views of the sea from our room. The rate also includes breakfast at their adjoining café.

The property also has its own restaurant looking directly out to sea, which houses a decent gastro pub type fare

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garryturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We did stop at Hokitika on our way to the Picton Ferry in the north of the southern NZL island. Reception staff was very nice and helpful. The room in the new building of the hotel was quiet with a stunning view directly on the ocean. We had a very good meal in the Hotel's restaurant. Unfortunately we had to leave next day. It would be great to stay in this hotel at least two nights.
The ladies at the reception did also help us to get our tee off times at the local Golf course.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night at this hotel as we travelled from the Marlborough district to Queenstown. It was a wet and windy day and flooding was on the way.

Location: the hotel is located across a small lane from the beach front. There is a large outdoor carpark at the back between the cafe and the bottle shop (all part of the complex).

Hotel: Is a series of buildings. Unfortunately for us it was very wet and windy and the reception/dining room is a separate building from the accommodation and it NOT connected. Breakfast is in the cafe, again you have to go outside to get access, which wouldn't be an issue on a lovely day.

Room: We had a beach view room and it was beautifully appointed, nice furnishings, lovely wood used for cupboards, etc. The bed was comfortable, the amenities were top rate and there was a lovely balcony with table and 2 chairs and glass front balcony so the view was uninterrupted. The bathroom was very well appointed, with heated towel rail, spa bath, etc.

Restaurant: we ate dinner in the restaurant and were happy with the food. We were both tired so hard to say if the quality was exceptional. The wait staff was very good. Breakfast was in the cafe and that was also ok.

The stand out of this hotel is the room and view.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smulholland24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

WE were expecting cable/satelite tv as stated on the website in which we booked but this wasn't so we stayed in the driftwood economy which was more like budget with no fridge and alot of carpet stains. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and pointed out where to eat which was great(restaurant was closed). WE were awoken early morning by the staff below emptying bottles into bins( at least wait until later).The hotel is within walking distance to the beach which is also great.The beds were comfortable and linen clean,we don't think the rooms are worth $95 but more like $75.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachfrontHotelHoki, Public Relations Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2010

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I wanted to confirm that we do offer satellite TV in all our rooms in the form of Freeview, a digital satellite TV provider. SKY TV, another satellite provider, is available in our public bar. I checked the website in question and confirmed that the room type advertises "satellite/cable TV" but it does not name the provider. Sorry if this caused any confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
7.8 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hotel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Address: 111 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hokitika
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hokitika
Price Range: $115 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Hotel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Beachfront Hotel Hokitika located by the beach and in the central of Hokitika offering wide range of accommodation from 28 luxury, modern and spacious Ocean View Rooms overlooking Tasman Sea, to 23 newly refurbished Driftwood superior rooms to 2 & 3 bedroom suites or The Magnificent Penthouse. Newly refurbished Ocean View Restaurant with its sleek and contemporary design overlooking Tasman Sea offering daily breakfast, dinner (A La Carte, Buffet and Set Menu Options) Central location to Pancake rocks, Shantytown, Gold panning, art galleries featuring jade, wood, ruby rock, gold, glass, Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers as well as numerous rainforest walks and cycle trails. * Free WIFI, * Free Parking, * Laundry service, * Bike storage, * Free Netflix (Only in Penthouse) * Bottle Store on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokitika Beachfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing