We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ocean views in a gorgeous town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This place was great! Upon arrival I got upgraded to an ocean view room (no extra charge) and the view was stunning. I started out my morning watching the sunrise over the South Pacific Ocean in Christchurch and got to see the sunset over the Tasman Sea in Hokitika. The rooms are very cozy (not very modern though), the water was hot and it is in the most perfect location!

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel and the food was superb and very reasonably priced.

The front of the hotel is on the main street in Hokitika - perfect for wandering around and doing some shopping and checking out the jade factories. The back of the hotel is the beach. Awesome.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lil_Miss_Mooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 560 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2010

Where to start!!! Firstly the weather for the west coast at the time of the year we were there, middle of winter, was BRILLIANT!! not a speck of rain. Then we arrived at the hotel with it's amazing location...right across from the beach. Room with a view.... and then there was our room..room with a spectacular view. This carried on night and day with sunrises and sunsets that were to two seasoned travellers just out of this world!!
The greet on arrival was lovely and the romance package in itself great with providing an international rating style room and a set menu for that evening absolutely delicious..we sent pics back to the UK of our dessert..mmmm tiramisu.
Our privacy was well respected and we would both recommend as a wonderful honeymoon destination and place to stay whilst enjoying first few days as newlyweds.
We will come again...maybe on our 1st anniversary

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra-Derek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This hotel is in a prime location. The views are just fabulous and dont compare with anything else - just amazing. Rooms a good size and lovely balcony to sit on and take in the ambience. What disappointed that with a nearly empty hotel in the middle of winter they put a family with young child right next door to us, not very considerate, hence I rated my sleep quality as poor but apart from that I would absolutely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bentford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Great little hotel, right on the beach, open your door and the sound of the waves fills your room. Straight forward service, good food at the attached restaurant, clean, modern well equipped, and a steal at the price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2,979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

The location of this hotel is superb - right on the beach.The rooms are well appointed and have balconies overlooking the ocean.The staff are very friendly and efficient. We had a minor problem with the shower discovered late in the evening after dinner but it was fixed within ten minutes of asking reception - first class. The meal in the evening could not be faulted neither could the breakfast.Easy convenient parking right by the entrance.I should say we had a beachfront room in the new block so cannot comment on the original block.
Well worth staying here

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alveleydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

stayed here in january, had a room facing the sea, brilliant views of the sunset.The room and the bathroom were a good size and very clean. Staff on checkin were friendly, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

We stayed for one night, after only booking a couple of hours prior to arrival. We thought it wouldn't be a problem finding somewhere - we got the last room! so it is advisable to book accommodation well in advance (next time we go to NZ - we will book all accommodatiion on the internet prior to leaving home).

The accommodation was clean, basic, but comfortable with lovely views of the ocean. The bathroom, although small was adequate. The is a restaurant in the hotel was very good, we throughly enjoyed our meal. The staff were very attentive, prices reasonable and quality of food excellent. We didn't book breakfast so we went to the cafe/bakery almost next door for breakfast which was very good.

On arrival in Hokitka at 730pm - it looks very deserted with not much happening, but the following day we walked round the shops which were very good, with a great choice of jade and gold jewellery.

If visiting Hokitka this hotel is well worth a visit and reasonably priced (our room cost $115).

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spaniel111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.6 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hotel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Address: 111 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hokitika
Price Range: $84 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront Hotel Hokitika 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Beachfront Hotel Hokitika located by the beach and in the central of Hokitika offering wide range of accommodation from 28 luxury, modern and spacious Ocean View Rooms overlooking Tasman Sea, to 23 newly refurbished Driftwood superior rooms to 2 & 3 bedroom suites or The Magnificent Penthouse. Newly refurbished Ocean View Restaurant with its sleek and contemporary design overlooking Tasman Sea offering daily breakfast, dinner (A La Carte, Buffet and Set Menu Options) Central location to Pancake rocks, Shantytown, Gold panning, art galleries featuring jade, wood, ruby rock, gold, glass, Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers as well as numerous rainforest walks and cycle trails. * Free WIFI, * Free Parking, * Laundry service, * Bike storage, * Free Netflix (Only in Penthouse) * Bottle Store on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokitika Beachfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing