We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
459 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fantastic, ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed for one night on the top floor, view is straight out to the beach and sea. The rooms are very spacious with high ceilings, underfloor heating in the bathroom, king size bed, wireless internet (chargeable but not overly expensive $15 for 6 hours) bed was super comfortable, lovely to have a wee balcony, with small table and 2 chairs, inside chairs are comfortable, along with a nice desk for working on. Shower is great, lots of pressure, and the bathroom itself is like the rest of the room very spacious. Tea, coffee provided. Whenever I travel to the coast I will now be staying there. Restaurant attached provided very nice meals for both dinner and breakfast. Also reasonably priced. There is also a lounge type observation area half a flight up which is lovely to meet colleagues for a chat.

Room Tip: Absolutely request a top floor room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    199
    93
    54
    18
See reviews for
52
363
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
farnham common
Level Contributor
298 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Arriving in Hokitika we looked at several abodes before accidentally coming across the Beachfront Hotel on the foreshore of the Tasman Sea. The ‘front’ and Reception are not obvious but after circumnavigating the building, we found a very helpful receptionist who showed us a top-floor room, perfectly adequate (large with King bed, new bathroom with under-floor heating, good wifi), overlooking the ocean. Breakfast was not as well organised (the dining room is a little worn) or value for money but the restaurant manager did her best. In sum, if you’re visiting Hokitika we recommend the Beachfront .................. in the words of the Receptionist “If it was alright for Prince William in 2011, it should be alright for you”.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the newer part of the hotel and the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Try to get a room with a waterfront view- spectacular! Room was spacious, clean, & comfortable. Staff were friendly & helpful. Stores & wildlife center very close by. Definitely visit nearby Fat Pipi Pizza and the glass studio! Laundromat across the street from the library (free wifi). Walk the beach in search of shells and pounamu (greenstone).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the newer modern wing--they all face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BearFam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Whilst the standard rooms were tired they were more than adequate and good value. The Staff offered a great West Coast welcome and hospitality and could not have been more helpful. The Restaurant had a great view over the ocean and the food at dinner was well prepared, served with a smile and delicious. We arrived for breakfast after the main rush and were obviously the last however everything was replenished so we had a full choice - great!!.

Room Tip: Eat in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Rooms are very large and well appointed. ground floor rooms open out onto a very quite road and the beach. second and thrid floor have balconies. The hotel has a lift for easy access.

Yhe only issue I had was to find the jug and tea / coffee etc in a cupboard at floor level. it seemed too much of a hassle for me to get down on the floor, get everything out and to make a cuppa.
the hotel provides a mini bar and bottled milk.

the food is excellent including the breakfast selection. the view from the retaurant is over the Tasman Sea

Free Wifi, but the code is written so small in their print out, make sure you have your best reading glasses, it taken me about 8 attempts and two pair of glassess to get logged on. also the loggon is based on time, so make sure you log off if not using your two hours

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coaster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We booked room in the new wing, with good ocean view, although we arrived very late at night, therefore can only enjoyed the view next morning. Although some reviews said the bars along the road can be very noisy, when we arrived that night, there was literally nobody on the street, very differenct from cities in China when you find lots of lots of people even at midnight.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the new wing with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiuZhanzhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

"Wow, wow, wow" was the sound I heard coming from my mother in-law as she opened her door to the room next door to us. This was followed by equally impressive wow noises when we opened the door to our room. The view is amazing, the rooms are beautifully appointed, modern, large and clean. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the seafood chowder the best I've ever eaten. Highly recommend this hotel. Stay in the ocean view wing, it is new. I can't vouch for the older wing, although it did look like these were in the process of being renovated.

Room Tip: Ocean view room, third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.6 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hotel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Property: Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Address: 111 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront Hotel Hokitika 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Beachfront Hotel Hokitika located by the beach and in the central of Hokitika offering wide range of accommodation from 28 luxury, modern and spacious Ocean View Rooms overlooking Tasman Sea, to 23 newly refurbished Driftwood superior rooms to 2 & 3 bedroom suites or The Magnificent Penthouse. Newly refurbished Ocean View Restaurant with its sleek and contemporary design overlooking Tasman Sea offering daily breakfast, dinner (A La Carte, Buffet and Set Menu Options) Central location to Pancake rocks, Shantytown, Gold panning, art galleries featuring jade, wood, ruby rock, gold, glass, Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers as well as numerous rainforest walks and cycle trails. * Free WIFI, * Free Parking, * Laundry service, * Bike storage, * Free Netflix (Only in Penthouse) * Bottle Store on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokitika Beachfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing