We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Loved our room”
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Following a tip from another Tripadvisor member we chose to stay in Hokitika over Greymouth for 1 night. We booked ahead requesting an Executive Room.

We can’t fault our stay. We had a 4th floor room in the new wing which was spacious, contemporary in design with wonderful views. The glass balcony helped in giving an airy feel to the room. The bathroom was also large with a great walk-in shower.

There is also a small gym on the 4th floor overlooking the beach.

We didn’t eat at the hotel in preference to seeing something of the town. We had a lovely meal at the Café de Paris.

Not sure if it was a special offer at the time we were there (can’t remember if our rate had included breakfast), but in any case we were given breakfast vouchers to the value of $30 to take in the Driftwood Café, and had a good breakfast before continuing on to Pancake Rocks.

The reception staff were extremely pleasant.

  • Liked — Decor of the room and the fabulous window/balcony
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fromleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    199
    93
    54
    18
See reviews for
52
363
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2008

After reading the mixed reviews I was alittle unsure what to expect from this hotel , but i was pleasantly surprised. As my title says you must book to stay in th newly built Ocean view wing , as this is lovely , modern & spacious , the location is brilliant , its right on the beachfront so you can see the ocean & beach from your window & balcony and hear it as you are sleeping. The only downside to these rooms is that there is no air conditoning and it can get very hot during the day when the sun is on the full length glass windows that faces the beach .
The driftwood wing which most reviewers have commented on is next door and looks very old , tired and grime., would not recommend .
The hotel's restaurant was good , we had lunch there when we arrived but beware the evening meal was totally booked up for that evening by 6pm (as there isn't much choice in Hokitika) .
We went to the local Indian in town at night, which is Ok but nothing special . Most food places close around 9pm so eat out early. Breakfast in the same restaurant was very average , it was busy and unorganised , we had to keep asking for food to be filled up in the hot plate's and by the time you had a full breakfast your food was cold , i would eat elsewhere if not included in your room rate
Hokitika is a small quiet place with a lovely quaint feel to it . I would stay here over Greymouth(40 minitues drive away). The hotel choices are limited but i would recommend the beachfront Hotel only if you stay in the new wing.

  • Liked — Location and beachfront views
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2008

We booked a "Superior Queen" room for our one night stay at this hotel. However, I have to say that there was nothing superior about our room in the "Driftwood Wing". In fact, it was quite the opposite. Whilst the room was clean and the bed reasonably comfortable, it did seem that it hadn't been refurbished since the early 1980s. All the fixtures and fittings were extremely dated and looked a little on the shabby side. It was certainly not worth the $155 we paid for this room.

I'd recommend that if you were thinking of staying here, you should consider paying an extra $50 for a room in the newer Ocean View Wing (which looked very nice) or otherwise save your money and stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach and good location for travellers to the West Coast
  • Disliked — Overpriced and outdated room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Crofty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in October. This was the last place we visited after four months travelling(only three weeks in NZ}The view is great and the rooms are clean. Not a great town if you have the time drive a little further north to Pancake Rocks. We drove all over the North and South Island for three weeks. We stayed in some great places the majority of the hotels did not have a policy of charging an additional fee for internet use, some of the smaller hotels did charge a nominal fee of $15 to $20 dollars.

So based on past experiences in NZ hotels I failed to read the fine print relating to internet use in this hotel.
Imagine my surprise when I went to check out of the Beachfront Hotel and I was charged an additional $95 for internet use for ONE night. Yes I did not read the fine print be careful DO READ THE FINE PRINT I downloaded some radio files. I find this charge grossly excessive. The front desk staff were almost embarrassed at this excessive fee and were uncomfortable.

Download your files somewhere else.

  • Liked — View is amaazing
  • Disliked — Internet charges
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanny515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

As the name suggests the hotel is right on the beach front with spectacular views. Unfortunately we stayed in one of the older rooms. Although the furnishings were all perfectly functional they seemed to be left over from the 1980s. The new part of the hotel looks really nice so I'd recommend paying the extra to make sure you get a newer room.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chromes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casino, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

view was unreal, for a small town this was the best hotel we stayed at even better than the $1100 a night in quwwnatown.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank gidgetsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

We were looking for a place to stop on our way from Christchurch to the glaciers. From what we could find, this hotel's new wing was the best and within our price range. The rooms are brand new, very nice, large and comfortable, and they have the greatest view right next to the Tasman Sea. Walking the beach was fun too. The bathrooms are also large, modern and spotless. We ate in their informal cafe rather than their restaurant, and that was fine and very well priced. Not much to the town of Hokitika, but it looked considerably more appealing than Greymouth. Would definitely recommend the new rooms. And the staff was very nice too.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank hla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.6 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#8 of 9 in Hokitika
91 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hotel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Property: Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Address: 111 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Hokitika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachfront Hotel Hokitika 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Beachfront Hotel Hokitika located by the beach and in the central of Hokitika offering wide range of accommodation from 28 luxury, modern and spacious Ocean View Rooms overlooking Tasman Sea, to 23 newly refurbished Driftwood superior rooms to 2 & 3 bedroom suites or The Magnificent Penthouse. Newly refurbished Ocean View Restaurant with its sleek and contemporary design overlooking Tasman Sea offering daily breakfast, dinner (A La Carte, Buffet and Set Menu Options) Central location to Pancake rocks, Shantytown, Gold panning, art galleries featuring jade, wood, ruby rock, gold, glass, Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers as well as numerous rainforest walks and cycle trails. * Free WIFI, * Free Parking, * Laundry service, * Bike storage, * Free Netflix (Only in Penthouse) * Bottle Store on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokitika Beachfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing