We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming reception at Wilderness Gallery Hokititka”
Review of Wilderness Gallery

Wilderness Gallery
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Hokitika
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: At the Wilderness Gallery award winning wildlife and landscape photographer Juergen Schacke's stunning photography is complemented by a variety of unique handcrafted giftware by handpicked New Zealand artists - jewellery, woodware, pottery, sculptures, bronze, stone all 100% New Zealand made. Artwork can be packed and shipped worldwide. Lately the Gallery has introduced new artwork from some of New Zealand finest artists: Marc Zuckerman MZ design contemporary woodware, Chris Weaver award-winning pottery, Jay Lloyd bronze artist, Mark Dimock wood carver /sculpturer. Aden Hoglund - jade carver.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Findon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Welcoming reception at Wilderness Gallery Hokititka”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

What was to be a brief coffee stop en route up the west coast turned into a several hour stop-over in this interesting 'arty' little town. The Wilderness Gallery displays the photographic work of Juergen Schacke and is a welcoming place to visit. The images on display are truly wonderful and showcase the local area, in particular the rugged local beaches strewn with natural debris. The colours and lighting captured in the work are magnificent and awe inspiring. We were particulary lucky that Juergen himself was on hand to talk about his work in a way that didn't put off some of us non arty types!
Take a break from the travelling and spend a few quiet hours in this interesting town and visit the Wilderness Gallery.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manorville, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“WILDERNESS GALLERY ,GREAT PHOTOGRAPGY”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The first time I visited Wilderness Gallery I was immediately struck by how powerful Juergren Schake's photographs.His compositions,lighting, and printing are among the best of its kind that I have ever seen.
As a painter I was proud to bring a photograph home and to give it a special place in my art collection.
Richard Eisman
New York

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank reisman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Haven of peace capturing the spirit of the West Coast”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stepping into Wilderness Gallery is like a long, slow breath of clean, fresh air. Inspiring music and beautiful images that are tastefully displayed helps anyone feeling travel-weary to be instantly re-energized. Unless he is out on a photo shoot, you can even meet the photographer, who will gladly tell you about what inspires him. My husband and I invested in one of these beautiful, solidly mounted large prints in 2010 (it was posted to us in the UK) and it blesses us every day, so much so that this year I have returned for more! Don't miss out this special place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ekw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful prints and great opportunity to meet the photographer and talk”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Interesting and unexpected compositions, beautiful subjects and competently executed. I loved this gallery and I bought 3 prints. There was also the opportunity to talk to the photographer himself and discuss his inspiration and how he achieved such lovely images. A real inspiration to amateur photographers like me, and I'm sure something for the professionals to learn. Highly recommended as a destination point in Hokitika.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kavita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luneburg, Germany
2 reviews
“Super pictures”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Wilderness Gallery shows beautiful pictures of the amazing landscape of New Zealand on a very professional level.
The photographer has a good view for beauty and small details. He also captured special moments.
Besides pictures you can buy beautiful postcards for a good price.
Its worth having a look inside!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderness Gallery also viewed

Hokitika, West Coast Region
 
Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 

Been to Wilderness Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing