We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay for a family”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oak Lodge Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oak Lodge Homestay
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay for a family”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This was a memorable part of our 18 day holiday in NZ's south island with our daughter and son ages 13 and 10. Once our son got over the fact that B&B did not mean breakfast ín' bed, there was not a single dissappointment, except that we were not able to stay another night. The home itself is a very warm and inviting one with good separate facilites for guests and only 2kms from Greymouth. Alistair and Shirley were excellent hosts , however they also gave us plenty of space as well. There was lots for the kids to do including a spa, pool and pool table. In the morning Alistair took us all to feed the eels and the sheep and let the kids play with the dogs. When we stayed we were the only guests and we really appreciated the time and effort both Alistair and Shirley took to make ours a great stay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robjane6161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Worth staying at the Oak Lodge! The house itself is stylish and nicely decorated, but the owners were the ones really making it enjoyable. Alistair patiently answered all of our questions, booked us a table for dinner (and his recommendation was delicious) and even joined us for breakfast. Shirley provided us with a nice home cooked breakfast and shared some recipes. As we had to leave early we missed the sheep and eels feeding, but they add a wonderful extra touch to the Oak Lodge. Best place in NZ, definitely worth staying.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_around27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We had the best expericence at this B&B. Allastair and Shirley were the best - they allowed us to feed the sheep! The food was amazing and they were great to chat with. One of the things they did that I truly appreciated was that after they got us settled in they went off and allowed us to enjoy our evening. The accommodations were excellent, food was phenomenal (that french toast was to die for), and a great location for the money.

Thanks Allastair and Shirley for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Alastair and Shirley's warmth make your stay here very special. You can feed the sheep, hike the hillside and listen to the birds and walk a beautiful garden path that leads to a homemade breakfast with delightful conversation. WE took the upstairs room with the balcony looking out to the sheep dogs and sheep. This is truly a rare find and a must stay!

Edward & Carla

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fasteddie44035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at the Oak Lodge Homestay in Greymouth on October 12th 2010. Alastair and Shirley were very nice and friendly. The location was wonderful. Things were very clean, tidy and comfortable.
Alastair shared a lot of information with us about the local area. One being that we took a drive up to see the pankcake rocks.
On the morning of our departure we fed the sheep, eels and went to visit the Hens.
All round, a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 97133620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We arrived in Greymouth one day early had to find somewhere to stay very quickly by good fortune we found Oak Lodge. We were the only people staying at the time as it was not long after they opened. Alistair and Shirley were perfect hosts, after breakfast we went on a tour which included feeding chickens, sheep and eels. We also went to see their 3 working dogs. A perfect place to stay.
Our Stay was in Dec 2008.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drags100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2010

We stopped at Oak Lodge en route from Christchurch to the Glaciers. The accommodation is about a minute's drive to the north of Greymouth town. We stayed in the self-catering cottage. Everything was brand new and it was very well equipped. We made use of some of the excellent leisure facilities on offer and very much enjoyed being shown round the sheep farm. The owners are rightly proud of the accommodation they have to offer and they could not have been more charming.
Mr and Mrs SW from Hong Kong

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Taitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greymouth
2.7 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
364 reviews
6.4 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Greymouth
124 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
318 reviews
2.8 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
282 reviews
24.1 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Lodge Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lodge Homestay

Property: Oak Lodge Homestay
Address: 286 State Hwy. 6 | Coal Creek, Greymouth 7803, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Lodge Homestay 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oak Lodge Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing