We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hosts alistair and shirley”
Review of Oak Lodge Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Lodge Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Oak Lodge is a great home stay, beautiful property about 100 acres, tennis court, feed their sheep, very comfortable rooms, plus the extra lounge and kitchen upstairs for everyone to use, great food with extra homemade cakes by Shirley and Alistair's knowledge of where to go in the South Island was a wonderful help to us. Go check out Greymouth.
Beverley

Room Tip: they have rooms to suit every traveller
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49beverleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Oak Lodge Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 102 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

After a day of walking to the Franz Josef Glacier in a constant downpour, we arrived at our one and only home stay. We (my grand daughter and I) were greeted by the most welcoming of hosts, Sherley and Alaster.
Hot tea and homemade cakes, served in front of a fire made us feel warm from from the inside out.
Our room was darling, clean and so very comfortable. We had a soak in the nice hot tub, and then the rain ended and I went for a walk with the sheep, the gardens are so very lovely. In the morning we had an unbelievable breakfast, all homemade and the table conversation made it perfect.We were off but not without knowing we had really hit the jackpot with our find on the internet for a home stay. I wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Just ask for the one to fit you needs
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

As a regular visitor to the West Coast I have stayed in and reviewed a fair share of quite nice places. However Oak Lodge is my favourite by quite a margin. Unfortunately our visit coincided with the heaviest rainfall for quite sometime. However, while we were unable to enjoy the garden the mist and rain off the hillside showed why so many artists try to capture this West Coast view.

The rooms were big, clean and comfortable. The whole place has quite a stately feel to it. The propieters pay a lot of attention to detail.

I absolutely recomend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a very clean and proudly ran B&B, both Alistair and Shirley are excellent hosts and also great company. Alistair has extensive knowledge of the local area and will gladly recommend the various places to visit dependant on our taste and mood.

Shirley's breakfasts are a delight, an added bonus was the ability to experience the feeding of Alistair's sheep and watching his enthusiastic dogs work them around he paddock. I Recommend this establishment o anyone visiting the Greymouth area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a lovely stay and nothing was too much trouble for Shirley and Alastair. Oak Lodge excelled at everything and it exceeded our expectaions, which is more than can be said for two of the B&B's which we stayed at in South Island. It was very clean, spacious and relaxing. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our final B&B before heading back to Christchurch and the airport. It was a lovely, friendly and comfortable stay. Shirley and Alastair were ideal hosts and a mine of information. Our rooms were comfotable and we had the use of our own sitting room. Breakfasts were excellent. Would recommend Oak Lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyv545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay one night at this lovely, friendly accommodation. Shirley and Alastair were gracious hosts – breakfast was delicious and it was a nice touch to have home baking available to us right from the moment we arrived. Alastair gently offered us the opportunity to feed the sheep some “sheep nuts” and we enjoyed putting on our gum boots and traipsing out to the field to meet Molly the sheep and her buddies. We stayed in the Poppy room and it was clean and comfortable and we truly enjoyed watching the TV in the guest lounge with a New Zealand couple who taught us the basics of Rugby as we watched the home team win. Greymouth is a small town yet we found a wonderful dinner there- the best we had to that point in our New Zealand trip! All in all a fantastic stay with a great couple of people – hope Shirley will share her recipe for the delicious fruit cake.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EMtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greymouth
3.0 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#12 of 20 in Greymouth
96 reviews
24.0 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
#3 of 10 in Hokitika
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
346 reviews
2.8 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
308 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Lodge Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lodge Homestay

Address: 286 State Hwy. 6 | Coal Creek, Greymouth 7803, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range: $113 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Lodge Homestay 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Lodge Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing