We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars for Everything”
Review of Oak Lodge Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oak Lodge Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a true 5 Star BB lodge, Everything about the place is first class, the owners Alastair & Shirley along with a few lambs give you a very warm welcome & make you feel part of the family, the Lodge owners have very high standards in both their hospitality & the standard of accommodation which is homely to say the least. There are many different rooms to choose from family rooms to twin bedded rooms. There are two large relaxing lounge areas with fridge, tea & coffee facilities. Our room was spacious with a balcony & fantastic views. You are encouraged to either feed the lambs, feed the large eels in local the river or walk in the colourful gardens then relax in the pool & just feel at home. Shirley makes a mean breakfast too!! Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 104 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent a fantastic two nights here in March and by the time we left we felt as if Alastair and Shirley were friends we had known for a long time. Our hosts went out of their way to ensure our stay was a resounding success.Beautiful location,marvellous accomadation, coupled with Alastair's free taxi service and Shirley's wonderful breakfast and fruit cake made this an experience that will always be happily remembered. Many thanks to both of you for your friendly hospitality. K ind regards Richard and Janet

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Oak Lodge has an atmosphere of a home away from home. Our hosts Shirley and Alastair were so welcoming, even carried our suitcases inside for us. Our room was absolutely beautifully designed and we were even upgraded at no extra cost because they wanted to look after my elderly mother. Breakfast was beautifully presented and followed by a tour around the property to feed the farming animals. I would love to come back. Definite value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We chanced upon Alistair and Shirley's excellent property while touring the South Island and looking for a nights respite from our campervan! My wife and I and our two friends could not have been more delighted with the rooms, hospitality and food. A highlight was feeding the sheep and river eels and being introduced to Alistairs sheep dogs. What a place, we could not have felt more at home.......do not miss it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We ended up at Oak Lodge when we arrived in Greymouth with no reservation and every place we passed was full. But what luck! Oak Lodge was far superior to the places we passed by. Shirley and Alastair look after you like family. The breakfast was delicious, and the room was fantastic. You even get to feed the sheep!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lezwopeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The owners made our stay very comfortable. The room is set up with all modern facilities, it was a bit like European style of B & B accommodation. Alastair took us to his mini farm to feed eels, sheep, chocks, etc. in the morning. I would say this place is suitable for all age couples, and a couple with one or more children. Quite a luxurious feeling. I specially like Shirley's cooking. Her muffins were very tasty because she added plenty fruits and nuts in it. I also enjoyed listening to their story and observing the chicken hatchery.
With a tennis court,swimming pool and sauna plus lovely views it is a place you could relax for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny and Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The house is beautifull, the breakfast hudge and the guest very welcoming !
A perfect country & warm atmosphere.
We had one night in Greymouth for our honey moon trip. Everything was perfect !
Thank for taking time to propose us to discover the farm side and feed the animals, it was really a nice experience

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aurelie julien t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
3.0 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
201 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
369 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
320 reviews
1.6 mi away
North Shore B&B
North Shore B&B
#2 of 16 in Greymouth
14 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 16 in Greymouth
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Lodge Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lodge Homestay

Address: 286 State Highway 6 | Coal Creek, Greymouth 7802, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range: $108 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak Lodge Homestay 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Lodge Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing