We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveler rating
376
48
7
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
48
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasman seaprivate beachnew zealandeggs benedictsouth islandone nightfellow guestsnine milesound of the wavesfantastic settingrock poolsonward journeybeachfront locationplaces to visitthe main houseb and bbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 434 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2010

When you arrive at Breakers, the first thing you experience is the warm welcome from Jan, your host, who shows you your room.

The rooms are huge and has plenty of space for both you and all the lugage you might be travelling with. But soon your eyes are drawn away by the view from your room - it simply blows you away. You wonder if it is for real, but I tell you - it is! You see miles and miles and miles of the westcoast, you see and hear the waves coming rolling onto the shore. Breathtaking.

It was so relaxing sitting at the balcony having a cup of tea and just looking at the ocean, seeing and hearing the waves. You forget time and place. Pure tranquility for the soul.

Well, ff you do get tiret of just sitting at the balcony, every morning at breakfast, Jan has individual tours scheduled for each of her guests. Jan provideds you with at lot of places you can visit during your day, and the daytrips are not just the ones you find in any travel-book, but shows Jans knowledge about her neightbourhood and New Zealand.

If you ever go to New Zealand and need a place to stay near Greymouth -
this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vadgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2010

It is difficult to do justice to Breakers in a couple of sentences - imagine a beautifully contemporary but comfortable and homely environment in one of the most draw jopping locations in South Island

Throw in a warm welcome, lovely breakfast and fantastic local knowledge for day trips and excursions and you begin to get the picture

Oh, did I mention that there is a private beach complete with waterfall at the bottom of the garden!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westcoastwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Unfortunately we had only one night at Breakers - would definitely be worth spending more time here. We enjoyed the great view from our room over the Tasman sea. Breakfast was very good. Jan did provide us with tips on where to stop on our journey to the Glaciers. We would come back any time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anja_and_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We had a really nice time at The Breakers, largely because Jan, who runs it, was enormously helpful. She briefed every guest with prepared sheets on hikes, directions, scenic stops, even great places to stop to eat. Her directions were extremely accurate and guided us through places where we might have missed a turn. And her lunch recommendations were well worth it!
Breakfasts included: ample coffee or tea, lots of juice choices, fresh fruit, toast, cereal, and, if that wasn't enough, pancakes, eggs, and salmon! She even offered dinner when we were too tired to go out -- and the food was very good.
Book early in order to get one of the rooms that has a view of the ocean. This one is really worth it!
JEJ

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEJNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

My husband, son (20) and I have been travelling in NZ for three weeks. B*B's have been our choice of accommodations as we want to feel close to the new Zealanders. We are so please about our choice as it gave us the opportunity to meet Jan and her partner. Both have been amazing with us! Jan prepared a great dinner for us at their B&B. Pleasant place to stay, out of any crown with the only "noise" of being in front of the ocean. What a wonderful place! You do not need to be in one of those expensive sites or resorts to feel like Heaven! Breakers and Jan will make a great job to make you feel like home with you. It has been one of our best discovers during our trip to NZ. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ancoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews