We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveler rating
376
48
7
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
48
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasman seaprivate beachnew zealandeggs benedictsouth islandone nightfellow guestsnine milesound of the wavesfantastic settingrock poolsonward journeybeachfront locationplaces to visitthe main houseb and bbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 434 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2017

We stayed at the Breakers for two nights. We could have easily stayed longer. You will want to stay multiple nights to truly appreciate how special it is. The location is stunning. The views are breathtaking. It is private and serene and very romantic. Jan is the host who makes this already fabulous accommodation truly special. She makes sure you have everything you need to appreciate the surrounding area. She provided us with information for the drive to the Breakers and for our drive when we left. Her generosity and genuine concern for her guests is unmatched. She is by far the most caring and kind host we have ever met. We feel very privileged to have stayed in this amazing accommodation and to have met such a lovely person. Jan you are simply The Best!!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank teamkingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Annette and Jeff I really have no words that do justice to your lovely review. Meeting people like you is the very reason we do this - and have done this for 13 years now. There is nothing more rewarding than our guests becoming our friends. So glad you enjoyed everything about your stay with us at Breakers and I look forward to staying in touch and hopefully visiting you one day in your part of the world. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017 via mobile

A fabulous location, lovely accommodation and the warmest and most informative welcome in New Zealand. The hostess - Jan - sent a welcoming email, well in advance of our trip, providing advice and recommendations regarding our drive from Hanmar Springs. The day before our arrival she wrote again, warning us to take care driving after a heavy storm.
By the time we arrived, we felt like we were meeting an old friend!
The accommodation is set above a huge, atmospheric and very beautiful beach, which was absolutely deserted.
We loved this place and only regret not staying for longer.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank NeilYule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Neil thanks so much for your wonderful review. I'm glad you appreciated all our pre stay correspondence - I do like to think our guests are coming to stay with friends but also to make the most of your time in NZ and the West Coast so the more information the better. Most common comment our guests make is the regret in only staying one night but with family living in NZ hopefully you will be back and we'll get to spend longer with you and Deborah on your return visit. You both have some wonderful things still to see and do on this trip though so I really hope you enjoy yourselves. Safe travels back home and look forward to seeing you both again next time round. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

What a treasure ❤️❤️❤️We had been traveling for a couple weeks out of the USA. We found Breakers to be a romantic out of the way getaway. The view spectacular, accommodations inviting and our hosts awesome! Jan made us feel at home from the start. We ended up taking a long walk on the unique beach. Rock and sand spectacular. Getting takeaway from an Asian restaurant enjoyed our view from the room with a bottle of vino. Perfect!!!! Thanks for your generous hospitality. USA Leawood,KS

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank BoardingPass737129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Kim thanks so much for you most fabulous review. So lovely to see you found it romantic as that is exactly what we think too! The tides were perfect for your explore of the beach and rocks so I'm glad you took advantage of a takeaway option so you could make the most of our location and those spectacular sea views. Super lovely to meet you and Mark and hopefully one day you will make it back again. Warmest regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

Very nice and clean place. The whole place makes you feel like home, but you're on top of the cliff of the Tasman see. Owner is very kind and warm. Rooms are nice and clean. Both homemade pizza and breakfast were delicious. I can only recomend you to stay here for one or two nights. Pancake rocks are only 30km away.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Adam thanks so much for your lovely review. Glad you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you all and seeing those continual smiles on your faces. Safe travels back home. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

From making enquiries about availability to making a booking and then having the good fortune of staying at Breakers - my travelling experience has been superb. Jan is a wonderful host making me warmly welcome and offered detailed information about the local and broader West Coast highlights. The Breakers is located in a gorgeous part of the coastline and enables you to completely unwind & relax. My room has a lovely comfortable bed enabling an easy sleep and Jan's tasty breakfasts are a great start to the day. I look forward to returning to Breakers.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Thanks Alison for your great review. It was super lovely to meet you and I thoroughly enjoyed our chats over breakfasts. Look forward to seeing you back one day soon. Warm regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews