We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 17 Greymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Stayed at Breakers for one night. The room was smelly and we had to open the windows to get rid of the odor. The bathroom is really outdated. The water that comes out of the shower is slow, the furniture is adequate for someone not taller than 1.50 meter. At 7 o' clock in the morning one of the kids enters your room. The breakfast is poor. The view on the sea is magnificent. The price is much too high!!!

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AP01_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, owner/manager at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2009

What a shame these guests now say they didn’t enjoy their stay with us. None of the things mentioned in their review were mentioned during their stay with the opposite being stated while they were here.
We are Qualmark rated 4 star and were recently reassessed and passed with no problems. If our facilities were not up to standard as these guests seem to portray, there is no way we would pass our assessment as it is very rigid and has strict criteria that we must meet.
We are also very proud to recently be rated under the new Qualmark Green rating system, achieving Enviro-Silver – a very good and high achievement in environmental friendliness. To achieve this status part of the requirement is energy, water and waste efficiencies – ie control on excessive water flow from taps and showers.
Regarding the supposed poor breakfast – once again it is Qualmark quality rated and is more than satisfactory and exceeds many others expectations. It is unfortunate these guests did not feel the varied selection on offer was to their liking or adequate for them.
As far as a child entering these guests room, there was a family staying at the same time and I guess from this particular review one of the children inadvertently entered the wrong room in the morning. Something beyond my control as they aren’t my children, but if it disturbed these guests, that is unfortunate. One of these guests was late for breakfast due to the great sleep they had so it didn’t seem to disturb one of them at least too much.
The room these guests were in is our standard room – our smaller room but as they left their booking so late we had no other options at the time to offer them. This room is however, exactly as portrayed on the website and they chose to stay after being shown the room. They could have gone elsewhere if it really was not to their liking and felt overpriced.
Unfortunately we can’t please everyone all of the time but 99.9% of our guests are more than happy and thoroughly enjoy their stay at Breakers and we get many repeat visitors or guests thru previous guest recommendations and we enjoy sharing with them, our little slice of paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 414 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2009

The view from the room was fantastic. and the bed very comfortable and plenty of space in the bathroom. Lovely to arrive and have immediate access to the beach then wander up to our room and enjoy a glass of wine while looking at the sunset. Even better after a hectic time at work to have no cell phone access - what an opportunity to unwind. Jan was a great hostess who had lots of excellent tips about walks and other things to do that were of particular interest to us. The whole experience was very restful and there was no feeling of being obliged to do anything we didn't feel like doing.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svenskafru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Breakers is magnificently situated, overlooking the Tasman Sea. From the terrace outside our spacious and comfortable room, we watched the waves breaking relentlessly on the shore. There's a lovely walk down to the beach where we were able to collect a variety of different coloured pebbles and explore.

Jan is an excellent hostess who enjoys looking after her guests. We appreciated the detailed suggestions for places to visit during out stay, as well as the super cuisine and her obvious commitment to the environment.

It is one of the most expensive places we stayed at during our holiday in New Zealand, but the fantastic setting compensated for this!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxxy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

A friend said we should stay at Breakers whilst driving up the West Coast of the South Is.
Jan & Stephen made us very welcome and the view from our room was spectacular. It was very pleasant sitting on our deck and even better to be able to walk down the short walkway to the beach. We loved the remoteness of the area. We enjoyed breakfast and meeting the other guests. Jan supplied us with relevant information on what to see and do. We stayed two nights and hope to go back to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2golfersAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Some venues have great scenery but variable service. Others are impeccably hospitable but poorly located. Breakers is one of those rare places with an outstanding setting and great host. Even received knowledgeable advice on things to see while travelling to the B&B, as well as when travelling on afterwards. If I return to NZ with my family, as I hope to, Breakers will definitely be on our itinerary.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swlaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Sadly we were only booked to stay one night at this fantastic B and B. From the moment we arrived Jan made us feel incredibly welcome and advised us on a helicopter trip and phoned ahead to alter our forthcoming accommodation.
Breakfast was lovely and friendly and the setting of this B and B is out of this world!
If we are lucky/wealthy enough to return to New Zealand we shall definately be paying Breakers a 2nd visit - but for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calihat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We had a long sightseeing drive from Nelson via the Buller Gorge,Punakaiki etc and,after a walk on the beach(Breakers has its own access), crashed out with one of Jan's platters watching the sunset and listening to the sea rolling in. It is comfortable,roomy and there are great views. Breakfast was good. Jan is an excellent host and her tips on where to stop bring out the best of the beautiful West Coast.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinnLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greymouth
8.6 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 19 in Greymouth
211 reviews
22.1 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
62 reviews
8.2 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 19 in Greymouth
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 19 in Greymouth
335 reviews
6.8 mi away
North Shore B&B
North Shore B&B
#5 of 17 in Greymouth
14 reviews
1.8 mi away
Beach View Motel
Beach View Motel
#1 of 1 in Rapahoe
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Boutique Accommodation

Address: 1367 State Highway 6, Nine Mile Creek | 14kms north of Greymouth, Greymouth 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Greymouth
Price Range: $157 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakers Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront location overlooking the Tasman Sea on the Punakaiki coastline - 14kms north of Greymouth and 30kms south of Punakaiki, West Coast of New Zealand. Set on 2 acres of native bush and landscaped gardens, all rooms have great sea views, ensuite bathrooms and outdoor deck or balcony access. Private track from property to access remote Nine Mile beach for beach walks, waterfall and rock pools. Breakfast included in room rate and optional in-house dining menu available until 7pm including local beer and wine. Warm hospitality with great local knowledge. Sit back, relax and enjoy the fantastic sea views and fall asleep to the sound of the breaking waves. Come share our slice of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Breakers Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing