We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 16 Greymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This place is simply outstanding, we stayed here for one night in July and we wish it could have been longer. Jan was a fantastic host. We arrived a bit later than expected and arrived to a warm welcome, a warm room and an upgrade! The location is incredible, the house has fabulous views of the beach and a private beach only shared with a couple of other houses! I could go on forever about the benefits and little points that made our trip so memorable. The breakfast was fantastic and the map provided by Jan for stopping points for the rest of our journey down the South Island was greatly appreciated. We cannot wait to come back and spend more time here. Thank you!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased to see you appreciated all the little things - they are often what add to the value of a stay - location, views, sightseeing suggestions etc. It was really lovely to meet you both, thoroughly enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you back sometime in the near future - perhaps with your family to show around also. Warm regards to you both and thanks again for staying with us. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    44
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
296
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This lovely B&B is located just nine miles north of Greymouth. Jan was a lovely hostess and treated us with these great cupcakes on our first night there. After we mentioned how tasty they were we found them waiting for us the next evening when we got back from our daytime excursion exploring the area north of Breakers. That trip was pretty much a perfect day with wonderful suggestions on what to see and where eat. Again, from Jan. My wife, daughter and I just loved our stay here and would recommend you not miss Jan and the Breakers if you visit Gold Coast. And I didn't even talk about the beautiful beach that is just at the bottom of the path from the back yard nor Jan's two way-cool dogs. You'll be glad you visited.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis51wb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to host your lovely family. Really glad your enjoyed your day exploring our region and found all my suggestions useful - and enjoyed the cupcakes too LOL. Wishing you all the very best. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We were delighted by our stay at Breakers on the west coast of New Zealand's South Island. We were sent detailed travel tips about places to visit on our road trip by our host, Jan, which were very helpful. Our comfortable room looked out on a beautiful ocean view, and we even saw a kiwi in the garden as night fell. Breakfast was a delicious feast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thanks for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was lovely to meet you both. Very exciting seeing the Kiwi and I was thinking of you both just a couple of nights ago when out for a mountain bike ride - heard a male Kiwi call and then the female answered! Was awesome. Thanks for staying with us. Wishing you all the best. Cheers Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Breakers is a lovely B&B located just south of an amazing coastal drive (Greymouth to Punakaiki) that is as good as any in the world. The rooms are large, very clean and comfortable. Jan is a wonderful host, and provided us with some fantastic travel suggestions, that made our trips from Christchurch to Greymouth, and from Greymouth to Fox Glacier, unforgettable. Highly recommend Breakers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al and Fin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found all the sightseeing suggestions useful - both on route to us and then for your forward journey. Super lovely to meet you both and wishing you all the best. Cheers Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Jan and Breakers are a must do if you visit the west coast of nz. Yes Breakers is the perfect location and b&b. But more than that Jan is an absolute gem as a hostess and ambassador for the west coast. She went above and beyond to help us before and after our stay. Can't recommend highly enough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeGraySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review and kind words - they really mean a lot and really pleased you enjoyed your stay with u - it was a pleasure to have you with us. Look forward to seeing you back one day. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My sister and I stayed two nights at this lovely bed & breakfast on the West Coast of New Zealand. The view of the Tasman Sea is just stunning and the nearby beaches hold beauty around every corner. Jan is a wonderful host with a great love and knowledge of the surrounding area. She makes you feel right at home and the cozy, homey atmosphere of evenings on the deck and great food makes it all more than perfect. I highly recommend a stay here and I know I will make a bee line back here when I return to New Zealand one of these days! ~ June, USA

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was super nice to finally meet you and great to see your sister again! Loved being able to share "our little slice of paradise" with you and look forward to sharing more of our beautiful region with you next time you come to visit. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

A fabulous spot to soak in the beauty of the coast and enjoy the comforts of a lovely room. Jan was a wealth of knowledge and a fantastic cook. We were greeted with homemade date bread and Russian fudge; makes my mouth water just recalling our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandRTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review - much appreciated. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us including the date loaf and russian fudge - makes my mouth water too - think I'll have to make some more as it doesn't last long! Wishing you all the best and lots of fun on your bikes. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greymouth
12.2 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
16.3 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
8.4 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Boutique Accommodation

Property: Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Address: 1367 State Highway 6, Nine Mile Creek | 14kms north of Greymouth, Greymouth 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakers Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront location overlooking the Tasman Sea on the Punakaiki coastline - 14kms north of Greymouth and 30kms south of Punakaiki, West Coast of New Zealand. Set on 2 acres of native bush and landscaped gardens, all rooms have great sea views, ensuite bathrooms and outdoor deck or balcony access. Private track from property to access remote Nine Mile beach for beach walks, waterfall and rock pools. Breakfast included in room rate and optional in-house dining menu available until 7pm including local beer and wine. Warm hospitality with great local knowledge. Sit back, relax and enjoy the fantastic sea views and fall asleep to the sound of the breaking waves. Come share our slice of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breakers Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing