We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of NZ West Coast Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakers Boutique Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 16 Greymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highlight of NZ West Coast Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Jan and Breakers are a must do if you visit the west coast of nz. Yes Breakers is the perfect location and b&b. But more than that Jan is an absolute gem as a hostess and ambassador for the west coast. She went above and beyond to help us before and after our stay. Can't recommend highly enough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeGraySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review and kind words - they really mean a lot and really pleased you enjoyed your stay with u - it was a pleasure to have you with us. Look forward to seeing you back one day. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    43
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
286
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

My sister and I stayed two nights at this lovely bed & breakfast on the West Coast of New Zealand. The view of the Tasman Sea is just stunning and the nearby beaches hold beauty around every corner. Jan is a wonderful host with a great love and knowledge of the surrounding area. She makes you feel right at home and the cozy, homey atmosphere of evenings on the deck and great food makes it all more than perfect. I highly recommend a stay here and I know I will make a bee line back here when I return to New Zealand one of these days! ~ June, USA

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was super nice to finally meet you and great to see your sister again! Loved being able to share "our little slice of paradise" with you and look forward to sharing more of our beautiful region with you next time you come to visit. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

A fabulous spot to soak in the beauty of the coast and enjoy the comforts of a lovely room. Jan was a wealth of knowledge and a fantastic cook. We were greeted with homemade date bread and Russian fudge; makes my mouth water just recalling our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandRTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review - much appreciated. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us including the date loaf and russian fudge - makes my mouth water too - think I'll have to make some more as it doesn't last long! Wishing you all the best and lots of fun on your bikes. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed for one night having driven across from Christchurch, before heading down the west coast and on to Queenstown. Jan is a fantastic host....very friendly and full of great tips and advice for our travels....even before we arrived! The room was clean and comfortable with spectacular views out across the ocean. The property sits up on a cliff and has a great little walkway down to the beach below. Breakfast was delicious and all in all this was the perfect place to stop over. A great base for exploring many of west coast's treasures like the pancake rocks.
Highly recommend this place...wish we could have stayed longer.
Oh...don't forget to pop down to the local Rapahoe Pub for dinner!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a balcony to sit out on and enjoy the amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayesha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks Ayesha for your lovely review. Great to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated all our offerings - I certainly enjoyed meeting you both, you were a pleasure to host. I do hope you make it back one day - lots more to share with you and fun times to be had. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We only stayed one night and Jan upgraded us - thank you. Full of local knowledge and willing to share ideas and tips, Jan was wonderful. The location is fabulous with a private path down to the beach. Have a complimentary coffee and just sit and soak in the views. Forget any review on this site that is having a moan - unjust. Jan was great and the room was lovely. Do visit this place and spend some time at Pancake Rocks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlackbladderUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. Much appreciated and really pleased you enjoyed all that Breakers offers with our location, the views and onward sightseeing suggestions. You were a pleasure to host. Hope to see you back some day. Warm regards Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed one night on our visit to South Island last week & it was a great experience. Gorgeous views & lovely accommodation. Jan was a wonderful host and went far & beyond in her help. It is a great place for photographers being so close to the beach .Breakfast was scrumptious! I would highly recommend this place & wished we could of stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. Lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your stay. The West Coast is a photographer's dream and home to many like minded artists. Glad you got to experience it for yourself. Hope to see you back sometime - to catch some better photography light :-) Cheers Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temora
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We recently visited NZ, and looked for somewhere on the north west coast and selected Breakers using primarily Tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. From the beginning, with Jan's emails providing a trip plan, then arriving to such a wonderful welcome and views, it was a lovely choice. A comfortable room with fantastic ocean views, a lovely walk on the beach collecting rocks, and a glass of wine in the evening, after great fish and chips at the local Rapahoe pub. Nothing better really! Sharon also provided great hospitality and advice etc for the second night.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review - much appreciated. Good to hear we lived up to the other Tripadvisor review expectations. Really enjoyed meeting you both and I know Sharon enjoyed looking after you also. Hope to see you again sometime. Cheers Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greymouth
8.3 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
12.2 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 21 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
8.3 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
Rosewood Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Boutique Accommodation

Property: Breakers Boutique Accommodation
Address: 1367 State Highway 6, Nine Mile Creek | 14kms north of Greymouth, Greymouth 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakers Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute beachfront location overlooking the Tasman Sea on the Punakaiki coastline - 14kms north of Greymouth and 30kms south of Punakaiki, West Coast of New Zealand. Set on 2 acres of native bush and landscaped gardens, all rooms have great sea views, ensuite bathrooms and outdoor deck or balcony access. Private track from property to access remote Nine Mile beach for beach walks, waterfall and rock pools. Breakfast included in room rate and optional in-house dining menu available until 7pm including local beer and wine. Warm hospitality with great local knowledge. Sit back, relax and enjoy the fantastic sea views and fall asleep to the sound of the breaking waves. Come share our slice of paradise. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing