We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveler rating
376
48
7
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
48
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasman seaprivate beachnew zealandeggs benedictsouth islandone nightfellow guestsnine milesound of the wavesfantastic settingrock poolsonward journeybeachfront locationplaces to visitthe main houseb and bbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 434 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Breakers boutique is all about the view, the beach walk & Jan, the host. She welcomes you with the warmth & passion of a person who loves her job, her beach, her dogs and her homeland. Her local knowledge is impressive. Homemade scones & jam on arrival.
Our room upstairs (stairs only) had magnificent views of the Tasman, and a private balcony. We were too exhausted to drive anywhere else for dinner, at short notice Jan managed to supply us with a bottle of wine & homemade pizza which is usually only on offer during the peak season, we were grateful.
The room was warm, and on appearance the bed & pillows looked hard but were surprisingly very comfortable. Rainwater delicious! Internet signal poor.
And coffee in the morning too weak for us, and breakfast area a bit chilly (no fire) but Jan continued to fill out short visit with all the attention and care, a devoted host.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

A great cliff top location with a private track to an amazing beach with smooth stones of all shapes and sizes - the sound the pebbles rushing over each other as the waves retreat is quite unique. We only occasionally saw a person or two in the distance, leaving us with a wonderful sense of isolation. The upstairs accommodation was very comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious. Jan was a most friendly host how gave us great ideas on what to do and see in the area

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Booked for 1 night stayed for 2. Beautifully appointed accom with a spectacular view over the ocean. Jan, our host, could not have been more helpful, she always met us with genuine warmth and kindness. Jan helped enormously with our itinerary touring NZ's South Island. If it hadn't been for Jan I'm sure our holiday would not have been as interesting as it turned out. Jan's knowledge and love of the South Island shines through. Breakers has lovely rooms, lovely breakfast......it's also close to a great local pub, beware The Rapahoe Hotel burger (Jan's suggestion) it might be a three course meal in one!! Glow worms at Charleston and the Pancake rocks at "Puna" are definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We found the breakers to be an extraordinarily beautiful accommodation with a breathtaking location. The views, gardens and rooms are all wonderful as is the tremendous hospitality shown by Jan to her guests. Jan couldn't be a better hostess if she tried - her genuine warmth and love for her country and the area surrounding the Breakers shines through, and you feel taken care of from the moment you set foot in the Breakers. My wife and I thank you for a beautiful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nola404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Breakers which is just outside of Greymouth. Jan our host was just fantastic and we felt like friends staying at an amazing beachside retreat. Lovely clean and private room with ocean views, free Wifi, awesome breakfast (highly recommend Jan's banana pancakes!), and plenty of advice on what to see and where to eat. I highly recommend a stay at Breakers Boutique - well worth the stop.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thanks so much for your great review. I'm pleased you felt like you were hanging with friends. I really enjoyed our chats trying to solve the problems of the world :-) Look forward to seeing you both back someday - you have to check out the ski fields on Arthur's Pass, easy to do day trips from here and Hannah you can relax with a book and a beach walk....... Stay warm this winter in Canberra. Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews