We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveler rating
376
48
7
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
48
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasman seaprivate beachnew zealandeggs benedictsouth islandone nightfellow guestsnine milesound of the wavesfantastic settingrock poolsonward journeybeachfront locationplaces to visitthe main houseb and bbed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 434 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Arrived late afternoon after the most fabulous drive from Nelson. Jan immediately came out to greet us and made us feel very welcome . A complimentary bottle of wine was chilling as a freebie from Jan as we were staying for 2 nights. The views from our room were amazing. If you want to do "romantic" this is the place for you. Deserted beach, beautiful sunsets and the waves rolling in.
Yes, you'll realise we loved staying there. Jan was an excellent host with lots of tips and info to get the most out of our stay. Breakfast was a nice relaxed affair and I thoroughly recommend the Pancakes.
Only regret ? Not being able to stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: Room separate from main house was perfect, but all rooms have amazing views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thanks Gill and Murray for your fabulous review. I like your regret of not staying longer - I was pleased you had the two nights and hopefully next time we'll see you for longer! Never say never is always my motto. Until we meet again. Wishing you both all the very best. Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Fantastic hospitality, amazing breathtaking oceanfront views, delicious breakfast. Peaceful restful stay. Modern contemporary design and friendly all over the top accommodation! Jan gave us the trip of a lifetime! We even learned about designer ice cream. I recommend this spot to all of my family and friends! Enjoy your stay ! Walk along the beach for hours and take all the beauty in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannieM1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a slice of Paradise! Wish we had planned to stay there longer. Our room looked out over the Tasman Sea. We took the time to explore the beach sunset! Owners were very welcoming! Breakers should be on your list of places to stay. Pat & Susan Bird, Grangeville, ID, USA

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thebirdscamasprairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Jan is an exceptional host, who makes you feel welcome even before you arrive. She also has a lot of information to share about what to see and do in the area. The rooms are big and very comfortable. The home-made pizza was delicious, and so was breakfast.
We were very lucky with the weather. We sat on the veranda outside our room, with the Tasman Sea below and enjoyed a beautiful West Coast sunset.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thanks for your great view. You definitely had some great weather during your stay - ended up with a drought in NZ so late summer was kind to our visitors. Pleased the sightseeing tips were useful and you enjoyed your evening relaxing on the verhanda with our homemade pizza option. I'm on the look out to view the movie we talked about and look forward to that. Wishing you both all the best. Kind regards Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our stay at the Breakers Boutique was excellent in every way. We stayed in the Breakwater room and I would recommend it to anyone. The panaramic photo included with this review was taken from the balacony of the Breakwater. Nothing I could write here would describe better than this photograph on why New Zealand and the Breakers Boutique is a beautiful place. Jan is a great host, and an exceptional source of information on what to do and see along the west coast. Also, the breakfast was fabulous, and we enjoyed visiting with other guests from around the world.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob3886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedsmom, Owner at Breakers Boutique Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thanks for your lovely review. Really pleased you enjoyed your time with us exploring our surroundings and making the most of our location. Look forward to seeing you back one day! Cheers Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews