We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay”
Review of Gables Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gables Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent two nights at the Gables Motor Lodge last week having ridden our motorcycle from Golden bay to Greymouth. From the moment we arrived to when we left, everything was fantastic. Being greeted at the reception with "You must be Brett and Julie" was a great touch and arranging covered parking for the bike was an added bonus. The room was superb and the spa bath exactly what we needed.

Being a few minutes out of the City centre meant a nice quiet night's sleep was easy to have. Gables is about 2 mins walk to the supermarket if you want to cook and restaurants are also very close.

I have no hesitation in recommending Gables Motor Lodge as the place to stay in Greymouth.

Room Tip: We were in unit 11 which was located at the rear of the property..excellent and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for recommending Gables Motor Lodge on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your comments and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again if you're ever back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 378 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

This motor lodge oozed quaintness on sight. We had friendly, helpful advise as soon as we arrived. They even went out of their way to show us to our room. The room was large with a mini kitchenette. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom huge with a great big spa. We were allowed to check out free DVDs to watch in our room. They was even a constant playing Tourist video to watch on a TV channel in our room. It was conveniently on the main street, but not within easy walking distance to Greymouth. There was a supermarket about 5 blocks from the hotel. This is a motor lodge and you would have to get there by car/taxi. But if you want to drive the beautiful West coast of the south island this is an excellent place to stay as a midpoint.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLW312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about Gables Motor Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us while touring New Zealand's beautiful West Coast. Lonely Planet recently rated it as one of the top ten regions in the world to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here in two bedroom unit with sister & bro in law. Unit was very comfortable with all amenities needed.
We booked online based on excellent Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed . Ian was very helpful with recommendation for restaurants and places to see.
We had a tour of Monteith's Brewery and thoroughly recommend this . You can also get your breakfast or lunch here and drink a beer in front of an open fire !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Hi Colin, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also the Monteith's Brewery tour. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Gables looks nice for a start. Freshly painted outside, spacious, clean & comfortable inside. Ian was extremely welcoming & volunteered a lot of information. On discussing our route for the following day, he told us firmly "This IS the route you are taking....." & he helpfully pointed us onwards in the direction of the blowholes at Pancake Rocks, the seal colony further on & more - all great suggestions. Ian knows how to run a motel & deliver good, friendly service. Recommended.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being near the road - it was quiet
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CillaL-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the West Coast. Lonely Planet recently rated it as one of the top ten regions to visit in the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Travelling up the the West Coast from Queenstown and through the tricky, washed out, Haast Pass we thought we might stop overnight Hoktika but with a little time in hand actually made it on to Greymouth.

I'm glad we did as this gave us the opportunity to stop at the Gables Motor Lodge, booked online a few hours in advance and based on the recent TA reviews. We were not disappointed. The very efficient and personable Ian checked us in and, like a good insurance salesman, he is able to write at speed upside down on maps and papers. This gave us good local and restaurant info and a scenic route out north for the next morning.

The accommodation was absolutely fine for our needs; clean, well appointed and comfortable. We had no need to use the kitchen, so Ian's friendly warning about anti-social cooking smells was not applicable in our case - but you can understand why he asks.

Our unit was close to the main road - the proximity to the high street is a bonus when arriving and departing - but any concerns we had about road noise were unfounded as you couldn't hear the traffic and we got a good night's sleep.

Well done Ian, you have in our opinion, a perfect set up there that is the product of you and your other half's hard work. It was just the job. Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We're glad you had a good night's sleep while you were here and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Greymouth is a sleepy small town on the west coast of the south island, NZ. It is an overnight pit stop before moving onto more scenic places on this specular island. I booked this accommodation based on people's reviews on trip advisor, and I find this to be the most reliable way to book accommodation these days. Gables Motor Lodge is exceptionally clean. Owners Ian and Tui take excellent care of their property and they are extremely knowledgeable and helpful with things to do in the local area and offer great restaurant recommendation. The studio room has kitchen facility but I did not use therefore cannot comment. The bathroom may be dated but it’s very clean and is NOT mouldy whatsoever. If you are particular about having shampoo / conditioner / shower gel in separate bottles then it is best that you pack your own amenities because they supply “All in One” shampoo / conditioner / shower gel only.
I accidentally left a small item behind and Ian (the owner) contacted me and tried to organise courier. It makes me glad that I lost the item in Gables Motor Lodge instead of some soulless hotels.

Room Tip: Owners / Operators make it clear that no cooking of strong smell food allowed (eg curry, fish). So i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolyAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Hi Shaz, thank you for taking the time to review Gables Motor Lodge on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope the item you left behind arrived safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We made a last minute decision to stay a night in Greymouth. Found Gables Motor Lodge in the AA guidebook and since there is still vacancy, we decided to stay a night here. The one bedroom units were all taken so we had to take a 2 bedroom unit for 3 adults. Everything in the unit is clean and the unit is really big. I love the heater in the toilet that uses lights and not the blower type compare to other motels we stayed throughout our stay in south island. There is free 100mb wifi for each device which comes in handy. Although the lodge is by the main road and its a busy road, the place is quiet and my family had a great rest. The owner recommended us to visit Punakaiki which was about 45mins drive from Greymouth. We decided to go the next morning and was really glad that we made the decision to visit it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay Gables Motor Lodge and for taking the time to submit a review about us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit to the pancake rocks at Punakaiki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 19 in Greymouth
216 reviews
1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#17 of 19 in Greymouth
516 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 19 in Greymouth
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#15 of 19 in Greymouth
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 19 in Greymouth
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 19 in Greymouth
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motor Lodge

Address: 84 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greymouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
#3 Family Hotel in Greymouth
Price Range: $109 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground-floor spacious, comfortable, well-appointed studio, 1 & 2-bedroom suites, serviced daily. 6 Studio suites (sleep 1-2), 3 x 1-bedroom suites (sleep up to 5), 3 x 2-bedroom suites (sleep up to 6). Fully equipped kitchens, microwave, fridge. Super-King/queen-size beds, electric blankets, heating, hairdryers, telephone. SKY TV 50+ digital channels, DVD players in all rooms, selection of DVD movies available at reception, spa baths (some suites). Continental breakfast, guest laundry. Cot/highchair available on request. 50M to licensed restaurant. Unlimited FREE WiFi internet. All major credit cards, EFTPOS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gables Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing