We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and well looked after lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gables Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gables Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Clean and well looked after lodge”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Greymouth is a sleepy small town on the west coast of the south island, NZ. It is an overnight pit stop before moving onto more scenic places on this specular island. I booked this accommodation based on people's reviews on trip advisor, and I find this to be the most reliable way to book accommodation these days. Gables Motor Lodge is exceptionally clean. Owners Ian and Tui take excellent care of their property and they are extremely knowledgeable and helpful with things to do in the local area and offer great restaurant recommendation. The studio room has kitchen facility but I did not use therefore cannot comment. The bathroom may be dated but it’s very clean and is NOT mouldy whatsoever. If you are particular about having shampoo / conditioner / shower gel in separate bottles then it is best that you pack your own amenities because they supply “All in One” shampoo / conditioner / shower gel only.
I accidentally left a small item behind and Ian (the owner) contacted me and tried to organise courier. It makes me glad that I lost the item in Gables Motor Lodge instead of some soulless hotels.

Room Tip: Owners / Operators make it clear that no cooking of strong smell food allowed (eg curry, fish). So i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolyAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi Shaz, thank you for taking the time to review Gables Motor Lodge on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope the item you left behind arrived safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    149
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
79
208
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We made a last minute decision to stay a night in Greymouth. Found Gables Motor Lodge in the AA guidebook and since there is still vacancy, we decided to stay a night here. The one bedroom units were all taken so we had to take a 2 bedroom unit for 3 adults. Everything in the unit is clean and the unit is really big. I love the heater in the toilet that uses lights and not the blower type compare to other motels we stayed throughout our stay in south island. There is free 100mb wifi for each device which comes in handy. Although the lodge is by the main road and its a busy road, the place is quiet and my family had a great rest. The owner recommended us to visit Punakaiki which was about 45mins drive from Greymouth. We decided to go the next morning and was really glad that we made the decision to visit it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay Gables Motor Lodge and for taking the time to submit a review about us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and your visit to the pancake rocks at Punakaiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This place was ok. Very friendly staff. The kitchenette was dated and the shower recess spilled water all over the bathroom. This was the only place we stayed at whilst in Greymouth, so it is difficult to compare but we were surprised it was voted the best in town.
It is situated on the main road, but double glazing on the windowm meant that noise was not an issue at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GosiaSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Hi and thanks for your review. From your description it appears that you stayed in one of our wheelchair accessible (access) units. While motels in New Zealand are required by law to have access units, they are not to everyone’s liking, however, which is why they often attract a lower tariff than other units. So yes, we think it is fair to say that you get what you pay for.

Nevertheless, some of our regular guests like our access units because of the comfortable super-king bed, the roomy shower, the car park directly in front of the unit and the fact that they get the morning sun.

While we may not be a five star motel, we aim to provide good, clean, comfortable accommodation, a friendly welcome and helpful service. This is reflected in the positive comments we regularly receive from guests, both online and in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Clean and well equipped room, decent location. Recommendation to check out pancake attraction was perfect. The stay brighten up what we thought would be just a pit stop on our way back to Christchurch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tshendomano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and also the pancake rocks at Punakaiki. They are only 45 minutes up the coast from Greymouth and are well worth a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Room was spotless and hosts very insightful on local attractions. Room was quiet and comfy beds. It's a little out of town as ,ost of the motels are in Greymouth but had a good meal at Buccleaghs just two doors down.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank YumYum-ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and also your meal at Buccleughs. We receive a lot of positive comments about the meals there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel, and the service, is what we have come to expect after four weeks in New Zealand. We were warmly greeted at reception and checked in. The host asked our milk preference and retrieved it from a back room. He then showed us where we were on a map and marked the location of the nearest grocery store, how to get to the town center and how to find several restaurants. He asked what our destination was the next day and then recommended several attractions along the way. After he gave us the login information for the free WiFi, he led us to our room, placing our milk in the refrigerator, pointed out various features in our room and then asked if there was anything else he could do. The room was clean, comfortable and up to date. We got a very good nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

A friendly welcome, tidy and clean units. Two examples of excellent service - 1) We were initially overcharged a small amount upon arrival which I didn't even notice. Tui came to our room with an apology and a cash refund for the difference, and 2) we left something behind in our unit and received a phone call within 30 minutes advising us of this. Thanks heaps. Will definitely stay again if/when we return to Greymouth.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi Cal, thank you for taking the time to submit a review about Gables Motor Lodge. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again the next time you're back in Greymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
178 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Greymouth
124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel - Greymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motor Lodge

Property: Gables Motor Lodge
Address: 84 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greymouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
#4 Family Hotel in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground-floor spacious, comfortable, well-appointed studio, 1 & 2-bedroom suites, serviced daily. 6 Studio suites (sleep 1-2), 3 x 1-bedroom suites (sleep up to 5), 3 x 2-bedroom suites (sleep up to 6). Fully equipped kitchens, microwave, fridge. Super-King/queen-size beds, electric blankets, heating, hairdryers, telephone. SKY TV 50+ digital channels, DVD players in all rooms, selection of DVD movies available at reception, spa baths (some suites). Continental breakfast, guest laundry. Cot/highchair available on request. 50M to licensed restaurant. Unlimited FREE WiFi internet. All major credit cards, EFTPOS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gables Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing