We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and convenient”
Review of Gables Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gables Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We really liked Gables Motor Lodge. The motel looked quite new and everything was spotlessly clean including the laundry which we made use of. The unit was spacious and the bed very comfortable. It's located just a couple minute's drive from the town centre. The owners were friendly and helpful and provided a continental breakfast for a reasonable cost. Highly recommended for a Greymouth stopover.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 369 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2007

We stayed at the Gables for 2 nights of our New Zealand tour, single storey units grouped round a courtyard on the main highway through Greytown. Accommodation was spacious with sitting/dining/kitchen area with single bed, a seperate bedroom (with a double & single beds) & bathroom. Apartment door opened out onto car parking area so sitting outside the unit wasn't ideal although there was a grassed seating & BBQ area on the property. Location was a bit out of town and we ended up dining at the Recreation Hotel nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

Excellent motel. Spacious well equiped units. Short drive to Pancake Rocks. Restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portiaretriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

This is an excellent motor lodge with very modern facilities, spacious, attractively furnished rooms and a high standard of cleanliness. The manageress was friendly and welcoming, and there is plenty of parking. It is in a pleasant location just out of town centre. An ideal stopover. Note that the reception closes at 9.30pm so it's wise to phone ahead if you are likely to be later than this.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MikeB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2006

Gables Motor Lodge was a great motel and a great value! We were very pleased with our clean, spacious room. There was a nice small kitchen. The bathroom vanity area was a bit small but still clean and nice. The owner was pleasant and helpful. There is no broadband internet...limited to dial-up only. There is a coin operated laundry but it was a bit expensive, $3NZ for washer and $3NZ for dryer. They provided detergent, but it wasn't the best, maybe bring your own. But overall, this was a great motel at a great price! $114NZ ($76US) per night incl. tax. We would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2006
11  Thank luv2globetrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
419
Reviewed February 13, 2006

We staid overnight on the way to the glaciers. The room was tastful and very clean, and provide all the facilities needed (toaster, tea & coffe, microwave etc). Practically located on the main street to (from) Franz Josef, yet the room was very quiet due to the semi-circle shape of the building with an interiour court. Would highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2005

Very friendly, exceptionally clean, and well appointed rooms. Our family of 5 stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which was spacious and comfortable - there were even complimentary (homemade I believe) chocolates waiting for us when we arrived.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank traveller3244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
202 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
141 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
359 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#6 of 20 in Greymouth
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motor Lodge

Address: 84 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greymouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
#4 Family Hotel in Greymouth
Price Range: $97 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground-floor spacious, comfortable, well-appointed studio, 1 & 2-bedroom suites, serviced daily. 6 Studio suites (sleep 1-2), 3 x 1-bedroom suites (sleep up to 5), 3 x 2-bedroom suites (sleep up to 6). Fully equipped kitchens, microwave, fridge. Super-King/queen-size beds, electric blankets, heating, hairdryers, telephone. SKY TV 50+ digital channels, DVD players in all rooms, selection of DVD movies available at reception, spa baths (some suites). Continental breakfast, guest laundry. Cot/highchair available on request. 50M to licensed restaurant. Unlimited FREE WiFi internet. All major credit cards, EFTPOS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gables Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing