We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gables Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gables Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Close to pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Room was spotless and very comfy. The pub (Recreation Hotel?) is a stones throw away so we walked there for dinner. You can buy a bottle of wine from the bottlo to drink with your meal and no corkage charge is applied. Owner,very cheery and friendly, gave us travel advise as we were driving over to the east coast in no particular direction. Much appreciated -as was the wiping of the frosty car windows in the morning ready for driving!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. The Recreation Hotel and licenced restaurant Buccleughs on High are very popular with our guests with the added bonus of being within close walking distance of the motel. Glad to have been of help with the car windows and hope the rest of your trip went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    148
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
79
206
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The owners were very helpful even phoning me when our washing was done.... Lovely warm room great facilities not a fault to be found. This was a stop over from our Alpine rail trip on our way around the South Island perfect start. Greymouth is a sleepy town felt very relaxed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Probably the best thing about Greymouth! We just stayed one night on our way South. Our room was clean, comfortable, and well maintained. Helpful, friendly owner. Very convenient for stopover yet not much traffic noise.
We didn't find much else of interest in Greymouth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed overnight in this lodge a while ago and found it clean and comfortable. There a small kitchenette in the our spacious room. Check in staff was fast and friendly, and the nice lady at the front desk even brought us a bottle of fresh milk after we'd checked in to our room. There's also some chairs on the verandah for you to lounge on. The lodge is located close to a gas station and a few restaurants. Overall we had a good night's sleep in this cosy lodge. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrekker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were very happy to be booked at the Gables. We came over for my daughters wedding. we were very happy with the accommodation. We had 4 people in the room but found the room very spacious and at no time were we uner each others feet.
we would gladly stay here again. It was very clean and comfortable. The owners bent over backwards to try and accommodate our needs.
thank you Gables
Well done

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here only 1 night, but it had everything we wanted. We had a studio room with a spa, it had a kitchenette with everything we needed, nice bed, plenty of room. Chairs on the verandah & a nice table & chairs on the lawn area, even a bbq. Check in was smooth & friendly & we were given a map with places to see & eat marked on it The man told us about the newly opened tree top walk, we weren't going that way next day, but we did a detour to see it & it was well worth it. Parking at your door & close to supermarket & restaurant. We found this to be one of the cheapest motels we stayed at on our 4 week tour of NZ, but was one of the nicest, cleanest & friendliest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Witch1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Only stayed for one night having travelled from Christchurch on the Trans Alpine train.
Stayed in the 2 bed appartment with my partner and elderly mother. Lodge was very clean and well appointed. Beds really comfortable. The appartment was spacious with plenty of room. The staff were so helpful. Within 10 mins of being there we had checked in and had a hire car sitting outside at half the price of the usual hire cars at the station through (Alpine West Rental Cars).
Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gezspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 21 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 21 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel - Greymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motor Lodge

Property: Gables Motor Lodge
Address: 84 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greymouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
#4 Family Hotel in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground-floor spacious, comfortable, well-appointed studio, 1 & 2-bedroom suites, serviced daily. 6 Studio suites (sleep 1-2), 3 x 1-bedroom suites (sleep up to 5), 3 x 2-bedroom suites (sleep up to 6). Fully equipped kitchens, microwave, fridge. Super-King/queen-size beds, electric blankets, heating, hairdryers, telephone. SKY TV 50+ digital channels, DVD players in all rooms, selection of DVD movies available at reception, spa baths (some suites). Continental breakfast, guest laundry. Cot/highchair available on request. 50M to licensed restaurant. Unlimited FREE WiFi internet. All major credit cards, EFTPOS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gables Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing