We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Place to Stay”
Review of Gables Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gables Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Regina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Excellent Place to Stay”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our stay at this property was excellent. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and comfortable. We loved that we could sit outside and had an opportunity to use the BBQ. A bit of a hike downtown but certainly doable. The motel was quiet, close to an excellent restaurant the the wifi worked great. We were able to use the laundry facilities which were clean and worked well. Overall a wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKORegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    149
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
208
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Picked this property from Trip Advisor and was impressed with the choice.

The welcome was friendly and the owner took time to explain the highlights of Greymouth and the best places to eat and sights to visit, which was very helpful. The room was spotless with a good standard of furnishings, and there was a local TV channel that had everything one could possibly want to know about Greymouth. It also had a guest laundry which was complimentary.

Well done!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OvationGX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

we popped in here at short notice and they had a great room for us with a very large bed and free wifi. Room was clean and well appointed. Our room was at the back away from the main road and we did not get ant traffic noise. The owner was very hospitable and friendly.He also recommended several eating establishments nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eraserman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a good two-night stay here on our way north through Greymouth. It is a little out of town, but there is a large supermarket nearby. Our host suggested to eat at the Recreation Hotel just a short walk away, and we went to the bar there for a meal. Can absolutely recommend the bar food there -we had a fantastic roast dinner for $17 each. We went back the next night for the same!
The Gables was clean and well-equipped. Can thoroughly recommend it as a place to stay in Greymouth.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The place is right on the main road/motorway so is easy to find if you are driving into greymouth. There is a supermarket close by as well. The owner is extremely hospitable, sweet and friendly and gave us as many free wifi vouchers as we liked. The rooms themselves are nice and large, the place seems new. There is a small kitchenette, fridge, microwave. A nice large bathroom. This seems to be the standard format for all motels in NZ. parking is within the motel complex, right outside your Room infact. We only stayed there a night, but highly recommend the place. Free wifi is very hard to come by in NZ :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaliSosale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Checking in we were given brilliant ideas of what to do in Greymouth and surrounding areas, advice on our drive tomorrow and places to stop at, including alternate routes depending on weather. The Manager was so helpful. Dinner reccomendation turned up an amazing little restuarant and a beautiful meal. The rooms are spacious and spotless. Lovely bed, and generally very quiet. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjgrubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I will just echo the previous two reviews, great stopping place in Greymouth, immaculate, large bathroom, good kitchen facilities, comfy bed, quiet and parking right in front of unit. Manager extremely helpful with dinner suggestions. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel - Greymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motor Lodge

Property: Gables Motor Lodge
Address: 84 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Greymouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
#4 Family Hotel in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
12 Ground-floor spacious, comfortable, well-appointed studio, 1 & 2-bedroom suites, serviced daily. 6 Studio suites (sleep 1-2), 3 x 1-bedroom suites (sleep up to 5), 3 x 2-bedroom suites (sleep up to 6). Fully equipped kitchens, microwave, fridge. Super-King/queen-size beds, electric blankets, heating, hairdryers, telephone. SKY TV 50+ digital channels, DVD players in all rooms, selection of DVD movies available at reception, spa baths (some suites). Continental breakfast, guest laundry. Cot/highchair available on request. 50M to licensed restaurant. Unlimited FREE WiFi internet. All major credit cards, EFTPOS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gables Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing