Modern , clean , freindly , quiet, Management was very helpful & new a lot about the area .More
- Free Wifi
- Free Parking
The motor lodge was quiet enough at the back but suspect could be a bit nosier up the front part we scored a room with a span which was much appreciated as i was still sore from hiking on the glaciers !
Staff where very helpful and recommend a really nice restaurant just a few doors down
Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed the spa in your unit. Our front units have double glazed windows so are quite quiet.
Convenient, clean, plenty of space. Bathroom was a bit odd but that may have been because it was handicap accessible. Not sure if they are all like that. There was no separation of the shower from the rest of the bathroom except for the curtain so the whole floor got a bit wet. They provide a squeegee for the floor but it was a bit off putting. Maybe one can ask for a traditional bathroom. Otherwise fine spot to overnight on the way to the glaciers.
Thanks for your review and we hope you enjoyed the glaciers. We have two wheelchair accessible units, both of which have recently refurbished bathrooms with European-style showers. This style of bathroom, with a floor-length curtain separating the shower from the rest of the room, is not a new concept – I first encountered it over 30 years ago while travelling in Italy. However, since your stay we have modified the shower curtains so as to better contain the water, which seems to work well. A recent guest told us how much she liked the access unit shower because it is so roomy.
Enjoyed our stay here. There are warnings against cooking aromatic meals (or else face an extra cleaning fee) - not unique to this motel in NZ. The rooms are large and comfortable. The spa apartment has a bedroom, a good stove and a good range of kitchen equipment.
The spa was a one-person (or two small people or two *very* friendly people) - but good water pressure so easy to fill.
The lighting was good and easy to read by.
A decent place to stay.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your review. The Motel Association of New Zealand, to which we belong, suggests to its members that they request guests not to cook strong smelling food, such as fish or curry, in order to avoid lingering odours that may be offensive to subsequent guests.
We were upgraded without asking.
The room was large, clean and the room facilities comprehensive.
the room was serviced daily
Although on a main road it was a quiet location.
Walking distance to supermarket, pub and restaurant.
Only a few minutes drive to the center of town.
the owner was very friendly and gave excellent advice on driving tours we could take while staying.
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We spent one night here in April and the rooms were spacious and very comfortable. We have been traveling through the south island and the one thing we haven't been able to find was kumara chips! The very helpful man when we checked in called local businesses and told us the one place in the area we could get some! When we checked out he pointed out on the map where to stop for spectacular views. All in all a delightful stay!
Thank you for your kind review. We're glad we could help and hope the rest of your holiday went well.